The Secrets of the "Thumb Drive". My Special Disc Golf Throw

in #blog6 years ago

Let me first apologize for the angle and orientation of this video. I'm low budget and this was the best shot I could get by precariously propping my cellphone on a bench.

Take a close look at the grip. I had to slow it down just so you can see it. Everyone who's ever seen me throw this way usually says some iteration of, "How the hell did you just throw that?"

Here are some better views of the grip from both sides.
20180814_181511_HDR.jpg
20180814_182020_HDR.jpg

My follow through was a tad weak on this one, as I usually swing the right leg all the way around instead of planting it. But that's not what's so unusual about this drive. As you can see, I start holding the disc with the face toward the ground. As I swing it around in a sidearm motion, I flip my wrist right before I release. I can't say for certain, but I'm pretty sure this generates more spin than a traditional sidearm throw, with the first finger or two underneath instead of the thumb. When I execute it properly, it comes off on a nice level plane and hooks hard right when it starts fading. This proves to be extremely useful on courses that have a lot of right turns, which is most of them.

I have yet to see anyone duplicate this throw, and maybe a couple people ever have said they've seen someone else throw this way. But be warned! When I first discovered I could throw like this, it did a number on my elbow. For the first couple years I'd wear a compression sleeve to help reduce the stress. Even now, after about 20 hard drives like this, my arm has had enough. Additionally, unless you already have a gnarly callus on the outside edge of your thumb, prepare to develop one. Upon release, the bottom of the disc lip scrapes right across it. Luckily I played piano through most of my adolescence and that happens to be where you strike the keys with your thumb.

What do you think, disc golfers? Ever seen someone throw like this? Ever try it yourself? Give it a go and try not to blow your elbow out!

Happy throwing!

Sort:  

Dude that form is crazy but if works for more power to ya... I'll try it at least a few times... plus your throwing a wraith.. so now I'm obligated to check it out ;9)

I always use the Wraith on this hole, but not much anywhere else on this course. It cuts pretty well at the end but you have to put a lot of power into it or it'll hook immediately. I recommend practicing in a big open field with this throw before trying to apply it. Once I zeroed it in I almost exclusively threw this way until I got better distance on my backhand throw.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75