Personal Journal: Reflection on the Subtle Change of Seasons

in #blog7 years ago

There was a slight crispness and sharpness to the air this morning.

Although it was a very subtle change, it was still a reminder that summer is almost over and fall is right around the corner.

SnowBerries
Snowberries

The leaves of the pink petunia in the hanging pot on the back porch are starting to curl at the edges... they look slightly "tired," and not from a lack of water.

Later, as I walked down the hill to work, I noticed small changes around me: The summer flowers have about finished blooming; the poppies are gone, roses have become rose-hips; meanwhile, this year's crop of snowberries suddenly seemed more visible. The leaves of the grape mahonias are starting to look a little redder, and their dusty blue-violet berries have suddenly sprung to prominence. 

Just out of reach of my hands-- but not of the camera's lens-- blackberries are ripening. Soon we shall have blackberry pies!

Childhood Memories

For many people, these tiny changes are too subtle to be noticed... but they were often my "markers," even as a child.

GrapeMahonia
Grape Mahonia berries

Mid-August meant the end of school holidays, and soon my temporary "freedom" would come to an end. The days were already noticeably shorter... indicated mostly by where the sun would set in the forest, behind our house.

In our vegetable garden, the season of summer flowers and strawberries and asparagus and raspberries gave way to blackberries and what my mother called "winter crops." The potatoes were no longer "new;" they were merely "potatoes." The once small and crisp zucchini had grown into huge "gourd-like" things my mother described as "too coarse to eat.

Even when quite young, I always paid attention to nature... taking more cues from my surroundings than from calendars and clocks. I would notice the lengthening of the shadows, and the way the "color" of the light would change... softening from the brightness of mid-summer.

Time Moves Faster...

Blackberries
Ripening blackberries

... as we age. Or so it seems. Maybe we just pay more attention to it. In a couple of weeks, I shall turn 57, but I don't remember how I got "here." Didn't I just turn 30? 40? 50?

I don't feel "old."

It's funny, in a way: When we were kids time seemed to move incredibly slowly... especially when you were waiting for a class to end. It seemed so strange when the adults would talk about how time seemed to move faster and faster... but I get it now. 

It really does.

But I still watch nature, and the subtle changes that indicate the changing seasons... and the quiet passing of time.

Fall is on its way...

Endnote: This was more of an experimental/experiential post than usual; just a flow of feelings and consciousness... but please feel free to leave a comment-- share your own experiences about changing seasons and the passage of time-- be part of the conversation!

(As usual, all text and images by the author, unless otherwise credited. This is original content, created expressly for Steemit)
Published at 20170818 23:04 PDT

Sort:  

In a few month's I'll be 67...I feel old.

age is a just number :)

and MY number is getting pretty big.
respect your elders my momma said.
I don't have many.
They've mostly died.

These days, that doesn't seem to mean much. "90 is the new 60" and all that.

You are indeed a sensitive and romantic soul ^^

Thanks... I suppose I am, in some sense.

Time flies too fast with every second. Good reminder to spend more of it with your family.

At least it's important to be mindful and aware of what's happening around us... including the changing seasons.

Hello and welcome, I am new on the site , follow me @elad1982 and vote I flow you and together we can succeed
Good luck my friend

I always notice nature changing and the smell is so different as we head into fall. I love how all the bugs just go away almost over night.

I could smell Fall yesterday when I woke up and opened my kitchen door. This post really reminded me of this. Wonderful read!

Oh it moves so much faster now, unless I'm in class waiting for it to end. Somehow that specific period of time didn't get the memo that I'm now 27, not 17 and time is supposed to fly, just as it does at all other times.
Watching my son grow is the biggest indicator of how time flies these days.

Time really does move faster..I think we all start to be aware of this during our 20's..my older brother once told me that as you grow older the years fly by faster, and in recent years I found that to be true..

No year has flown by as quickly as 2017. It's already August for heaven's sake! Still feels like the year just started.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87