A short list of video games I have enjoyed this year

in #blog4 years ago (edited)


In this article I will mention the most relevant games that I have been able to play so far this year.

Limbo: a 2d game where the character is caught in limbo. The graphics are not realistic but rather artistic, and the game has several puzzles that can be bit difficult to solve sometimes. I liked the game but where this team of developers really stands out is in the game they would develop after this one, called Inside...

Inside: this game is one of the best in its category. The story is implicitly told, so the player realizes what is happening based on what he sees on the screen since there is no narration whatsoever. As the name implies, with Inside we are inside a huge and mysterious place. There are watchmen and as we move forward it becomes clear there is something dark going on. Our goal is to escape from that place and save our lives. This game despite its simplicity has been one of the best I've played in the year.

Mass Effect Andromeda: This is a space RPG. I decided to try this saga because a friend recommended me to play Mass Effect 3 (from the first trilogy) years ago, and when I played it I realized that it was truly epic. Andromeda happens in the galaxy of the same name and it is a separate story with different characters. I liked it and it shows that it is a super production, but honestly there are many other games that I have enjoyed more. Anyway for space lovers Mass Effect is probably the best videogame in the market. Although in the next few years the company Bethesda, the creator of my favorite video game Skyrim, is creating a space game. The only bad thing is that there are still several years left before they finish its development.

Resident Evil 7: As a horror lover, I obviously had a good time playing the last Resident Evil. There are very dark and very tense moments, but nothing that really scared me. The good thing is that on occasion it is a true horror atmosphere that will make anyone who enjoys the genre very happy. A horror saga that looks good and I haven't tried it yet is Outlast. I planned to install Blair Witch but the reviews didn't convince me. So probably the next horror game I will install are either Outlast 1 or 2.

Sort:  

i love love love Limbo and think that Inside is one of the best games ever made in any genre. I just love the way that how in both (which are both made by the same studio) don't spell the story out for you, you kind of have to figure it out and this leads to a lot of fan fiction and theories. There are 30 minute Youtube videos that break down the subtleties of Inside and I found those videos to be nearly as entertaining as the game.

I certainly hope that this studio can keep delivering the great 2-D platforming thrillers because I will buy all of them. Great stuff. I got stuck on Resident Evil because the mechanics of a foe that you simply can not kill until the "boss fight" was actually a bit annoying to me... very reminiscent of the RE where that giant thing (i just had the name of it in my mind but forgot) is following you the entire damn game. Perhaps I'll go back and revisit that game later because it was beautiful although the cop not believing you through the window was a bit absurd.

I certainly hope that this studio can keep delivering the great 2-D platforming thrillers because I will buy all of them

They certainly have a good reputation after their massive success with Inside.

the cop not believing you through the window was a bit absurd

Yep indeed, the game isn't perfect but is certainly one of the best games in the horror genre. Have you played The Evil Within?

Hi @dedicatedguy!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.579 which ranks you at #1961 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 93 contributions, your post is ranked at #23.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Have you tried any of the silhouette style games on Android? There are a few that are quite good. One in particular, Vector and its sequel, is very good if you don't mind endless runners.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.nekki.vector

I don't play much on mobile these days but thanks for the recommendation!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75