Rare Cat Breed: The British Shorthair

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

One of the most ancient cat breeds to exist, the British Shorthair remains as the most famous pedigreed breed in all of the U.K. This was the cat that inspired the classic book Alice in Wonderland’s very own Cheshire Cat. British Shorthairs usually are seen having a blue-gray coat, but other variations such as tabby and colorpoint are known to occur, and the famous copper eyes.

With a lifespan of  12 to 17 years, this cat breed  is native to England. Two world wars almost made them extinct, and few ones remained after World War II. With the help of other breeds, the Shorthairs, as they are called in the UK, were revitalized.

The American Cat Association recognized the breed in 1967, but the Cat Fanciers Association did not accept it until 1980. Now, all cat associations do.

British Shorthairs are calm cats when they mature. They are easygoing in nature. Very affectionate, they become quite attached to their owners. These cats are easy to train and very adaptable. They seem to get along with all family members, regardless of age, but are usually not fond of being carried.


_________________________________________________________________________

Image sources: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/British_Shorthair#/media/File:Britishblue.jpg

Youtube video by Pat Parisi

Info sources: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/British_Shorthair and http://cattime.com/cat-breeds/british-shorthair-cats#/slide/1

_________________________________________________________________________

Sort:  

This little poem just came to me

I am a cat
I am an Englishman, you see
and for that I love tea
and teatime
because you can discuss or just think
of important matters and drink
hot deliciousness
and get rid of all the stress

Have a great day!

A winner for me.

From the first closeup picture it looks like a black puma, very big @darthnava

Thank you! I am glad you like it!

@sumsum I've seen around some of your poems on various contest entries. I love each and everyone so far! Specially the one from Hope's First and Worst. Just dropping a note to let you know your talent is appreciated ^_^

Thank you very much! I write one for you if you drop me a topic :)

This is so sweet of you! Would love one on 'My Love From Afar' ^_^

Intresting. About a lover far away or about a the love for a star ?

Here it is I hope you like it.

Beautiful cat <3 , how is my kitty cat :)
ww.jpg

This is my cat @darthnava! How cool is that for your first post?? I promise to take a pic of him soon ... his name is Goliath! :) Upvoted and RS :))

Then your cat gave you luck.

... which then passed onto you as healing powers :D

Goliath's morning stretch!! :))

Looks macho.

He is a big strong cat, but a bit stupid - hence his Goliath name! :)

Oh god I didn't know they are so rare. My uncle and aunt have 6 grown cats and 14 babies walking around. They sell each cat baby for 1000 € imagine that...

Then your relatives are lucky cat owners.

Wow! I like this cat.

Glad to see your post! Interesting story, I have never heard of these cats before.

Me too until I did research.

Sooo cute.Thanks for sharing.
How abt my "Garfi"
IMG_1120 copy.JPG

That cat looks so cool!

Garfi is cool.

Thank you very much

Does this cat have nine lives..?

It might have...

I was a British Shorthair breeder till 2010. They are really calm an fluffy buddies, but as you said they don't like to be carried around or to cuddle. Still have one BS at my home, she was the first kitten ever born at my cattery and is now at the age of 14. Her name is Michelangelo's Angel and has stunning orange eyes :-)

angel1 (2).jpg

Then you are a lucky cat owner!

Wow~
I love cats and dogs.

영어로- 토피스 스토리.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65317.17
ETH 2646.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86