You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fixing your own mental illness....A perspective from someone who was mentally ill. SESSION 1.

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Or another way of looking at it...

Teacher - Asking if everyone has the right to freedom is the same as asking if 2+2 = 4 or if a chess board only has black and white squares.

Pupil - Yes but it's not, because that is assuming that all people are the same. Even if you rule out the small percentage of psychopaths and sociopaths in society. There still might be a situation whereby that's not a black and white question. I mean my answer is yes, however there will always be a but not if situation..

Teacher - You do not agree with me, ergo you are mentally ill.

Pupil - [sigh] and you have no idea what the word teacher means.

Cg

Sort:  

lets finish with a 'yes' or 'no',shall we?

Can you do that, or do you not have the conviction? lol

What is very interesting, is that ALL the people who ever disagree with me, and then decide to unvote an upvote.. have

100% ....been on the left....

Quite fascinating - ...almost like temper tantrum or something...

Quite fascinating - ...almost like temper tantrum or something...

I removed my upvote because of the way you keep insisting that not believing in your premise makes me mentally ill. I also removed it because of your cartoon mocking me which I regarded as pretty childish.

When I don't agree with someone, I don't attempt to mock them because it doesn't move the debate anywhere. Plus of course it alienates the person you are debating with, and comes across as a 'temper tantrum'.

I voted for the article in the first place because I often vote for things I don't agree with. However it is your reaction to my disagreement which caused me to change my mind.

The fact that you call it a temper tantrum further illustrates the fact that you are completely unwilling to even give my counterargument a moment's thought. Choosing instead to ignore my points regarding the semantics of a yes/no question. Even though I've done my best to address your points.

100% ....been on the left....

You are obsessed with this whole left and right thing. To the point whereby you have come to the conclusion that anyone who is on the left is devoid of a sense of humour, and is mentally ill.

As I've stated before I do not consider myself to be on any side. I simply take each situation on its merits. I don't agree with most of what you say, however I still vote for you and attempt to engage you. I see his is healthy discourse as it shields me from only ever conversing with people that agree with me.

Like I say though, disagreeing with me is fine. Mocking, and ignoring the fact that I have answered you, well that's just pointless to me and is not something I want to endorse.

lets finish with a 'yes' or 'no',shall we?

As I've stated a few times now - Yes everyone who is behaving in a way deemed acceptable to society does have a right to freedom.

That's as simply as I care to put it. :-)

Cg

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63157.91
ETH 3096.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91