Goals for 2018

in #blog6 years ago

Usually, I never set goals for myself.
I rather just try to work on things consistently and then it leads somewhere.
Goals are often really artificial and in the end, they don't matter - the only thing that matters is the process to get to towards that goal and how much time/effort you spend on that process.
If you just do everything that needs to be done all the time, the concrete goal "winning condition" doesn't matter anyway.

It's the goals vs systems approach.

If you're a writer, your goal is to write a book. Your system is the writing schedule that you follow each week.
If you're a runner, your goal is to run a marathon. Your system is your training schedule for the month.
If you're an entrepreneur, your goal is to build a million dollar business. Your system is your sales and marketing process.
If you completely ignored your goals and focused only on your system, would you still get results?
-- James Clear

The only drawback is that it's easy to slack off and not give it your all. You convince yourself that you're already doing as much as possible when in reality you're not. In contrast, when working towards a concrete goal, number, or deadline, right in front of you, you could probably work even more. So, it's a matter of discipline and short-term goals.

However, it can be quite fun and insightful to reflect on long-term goals. I'll come back to this post in a year and see what I really achieved in the end.
So, here are my goals for 2018, in no particular order:

  • Write a book / interactive course / video course, and sell it
  • Read a book each month
  • Write a smart contract (d)app that earns money on some blockchain
  • Code a side project in a functional programming language. I always liked functional programming in university and it's been a while since I used one. Maybe ReasonML & React for frontend? Elixir for backend? Haskell for smart contracts (Cardano)?
  • Learn a new framework doing a side project. Probably Apollo & GraphQL? Vue.js?
  • Finally start live-coding on twitch. Been procrastinating on this for too long
  • Less sports. I'm going to the gym 4x a week now, but my priorities changed and I want to go down to 3 times or do a shorter routine
  • Write blog posts more often. Bi-weekly schedule?
  • Earn 1000 EUR / month by end of the year through my side-projects.

Originally published at https://cmichel.io

Sort:  

What help me to get results with my side projects was the 12 Week Year book. If you are interested I can write a post with the gist of it.

Yes, I haven't read it. A post with the main ideas would be really nice!

Here goes the weekend … haha. I will certainly follow through and let you know when I published the post.

Perfect :)

​It took me a bit longer, but I just published the article. Hope it helps you with planning your side projects.

Haha, I almost forgot about this.
Thanks, I'll read it later

Nice goals. Interesting that you want to do less exercise ? Why is that? Just to get more time?

Yes, it felt like I was spending too much time exercising while only barely progressing. Then you get sick and have to start with lower weights again, etc.
I'm focusing more on just satying fit now, and maybe find a new interesting sport.

Cool. I would like to do a bit more thus year ! So it’s the opposite . I love the read a book per month goal. That’s so important that people take on board new ideas .

It is necessary to define goals, write them and look at them from time to time, and be more determined to achieve them.

My goal in 2018 is to raise money to help my family

My goal is to man up and make money

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86