Expanse | New Website | Omar Alvarez

in #blog6 years ago

EXPANSE.TECH 2.0 WEBSITE DEVELOPMENT UNDERWAY

Many of you have noticed that there is a temporary landing page on www.expanse.tech,  our company website. That is because, with feedback and suggestions  from many in our community, a new site is in development. See the sneak  peek of our landing page in the graphic above. We call it Expanse.Tech™  2.0.Among the many rich and innovative features are the ability  to view content according to the user profile (miner vs. developer,  etc.), curated news content, a knowledge base, and real-time exchange  and Discord chat viewing.We could not be more excited about bringing this new site to our community. Watch for an announcement about the launch soon!

EXPANSE: BEHIND THE TECH — OMAR ALVAREZ

Expanse — Behind the Tech is a new blog series that provides a  glimpse into the people behind the scenes who make everything happen at  Expanse.Tech™. Think of it as a window into the lives and driving forces  of the people that forge our path and work hard every day for the  community and to achieve the Expanse goals. Without our team members,  vendors, influencers and contributors, we would not be on the solid  footing we have achieved to date. I’m proud that our first profile  focuses on Omar Alvarez, Expanse team member and Gameboard CEO. As is  characteristic of the exuberance and motivation he brings to all of his  projects, he has penned his own profile. I hope you enjoy the series.— Christoper J. Franko, Expanse Co-founderMy Journey with Expanse By Omar Alvarez


Everything starts with a wish…I  remember that I was sitting in the concourse of the Guatemalan National  airport with some friends. We were heading to the Collision Conference  in New Orleans, LA. We were reading about the attendees, informational  sessions and new technology awaiting us at the conference. The year 2016  was amazing for the Dev Shop, my company, and 2017 was the moment to  launch my gamification platform. Sitting there with business cards, web  page and a t-shirt we created, I felt proud. I didn´t know what was  coming was so big.So, the Collision conference went fine, and I  met a lot people, I got some new clients for the Dev Shop back here in  Guatemala, and I attended a lot of fun meetings and parties. The NOLA  food and beer were amazing. I was so excited to be there, waiting for an  opportunity to introduce GameBoard, The Gamification Playground, to  someone that would take the platform to the next level.After  meeting with some local clients, I knew something awesome would happen —  and it did happen in a way I really did not expect. 


Let me tell you  about it.The AHA! MomentSo it was the last day of the  conference, and I didn’t get a chance to present Gameboard to anybody. S  I put my Gameboard T-shirt on, got my business cards ready, and had  faith. I wanted to have breakfast in a small restaurant, run by some  cool girls near the Convention Center. It was about 5km from the hotel  where I was staying, and it was an amazing morning to walk. I started  walking and thinking about how I was going to present the platform to  somebody. (Have you ever had that feeling when you want to make other  people believe in the things you do, like you do?)After my 5 km  walk, I arrived at the coffee shop, but it was full. I had no problem  waiting, so I stood in line. After all, I was just looking for some  feedback and validation, despite being successful in the local market. I  needed to know if we were ready for the world.Standing in line, I  was approached by a tall, thin guy who introduced himself as Timothy  Suggs. He said, “Do we have to sign in to have breakfast?” I said no,  and after about 10 minutes waiting, he started talking to me about the  blockchain with a passion that you don’t see in many people. He told me  what he did for a living, and began to talk about this amazing  technology that would change the world. “This is the future and you are  in the beginning of a new revolution,” he said. He mentioned that he is  part of a community supporting a company named Expanse, which he  described as pioneers in blockchain technology who are setting out to  change the world. He was so passionate about the tech that listening to  him was mind-blowing.The Hamster in my head, stumble and fallSo  10 minutes before we finished breakfast he asked me what I do for a  living. In my mind, the hamster running on the wheel stopped, stumbled  and said, “Hey this is it, say it, go!!” and started running like hell. I  said, “I created a gamification platform to add the mechanics to any  platform. If you have an API to connect your system, I will give you  dashboards, leaderboards, points, levels badges… it is a Gamification  playground.” Then he asked me to stop talking and to explain it to the  Expanse CEO. The hamster stopped again. “The CEO? Oh man.” He told me he  would look for me at the conference so we could talk to him. He stood  up and left — my mistake I didn´t give him my business card and didn´t  get his number.After the whole day in the conference talking to  people about GameBoard and collecting contacts, suddenly Timothy  messaged me in the Collision App and said, “Where are you? Come to the  food area to meet my CEO.” The hamster collapsed and said, “The  CEO?”(You imagine this 60-year-old guy with white hair with a young  beautiful model by his side, 6’8”, 240 pounds, so direct and business  oriented that you have 30 seconds to tell him what you do. I was  walking cool to the meeting with my heart pumping like hell and there is  Timothy with a guy that looks like a “normal developer person” and a  beautiful lady. Tim said, “This is Christopher Franko our CEO.” When I  met Chris, he made me feel so confident — he was just a regular guy, a  person, someone who had a dream and he was living it. He asked me about  my life and my story, and then he started talking about his rap music,  cryptos, kids, and Expanse.The hamster sits down to open a beer and said, “This is dope!! Enjoy!”(Oh!! I forgot, the beautiful lady was Chris’ wife, Heather — awesome person.)This is the real AHA! MomentAfter  we explained our platforms and ideas, Chris said I have this project  that I always wanted to do. It is about life and I am looking to gamify  the experience. After he said that, we talked for an hour about it,  creating this amazing platform in our minds. He said, “We will talk next  week and do the necessary partnership paper work. This is awesome.”We  both shook hands and said goodbye, somehow, I felt like I knew this  guy, maybe from another life. “The big CEO” became an accessible person  with values and a dream.After a few months designing and creating  the EXP.Life project, we wrote the white paper and create the logo  (coming soon) I started working with Expanse. I am sure this is the  greatest opportunity that life gave me, I am in charge now of the  project, creating new and amazing things for the platform, part of the  Advisory board, and the Ambassador in Guatemala for Expanse. I already  held the first meeting with the Blockchain Guatemala group that I  created, and I am learning a lot.For an entrepreneur in  Guatemala, with a lot of dreams and the desire to change my country and  the world, Expanse has become an excellent opportunity to dream, to  work, to accomplish, to create the world that I want to live in.I will try so hard that one day I will accomplish.So, thanks Chris, Tim and the whole team, I feel very welcome.Omar Alvarez — Husband, Dad, Guatemalan, Improv fan, entrepreneur, gamification lover and proudly Expanse Team member.


Original Article: https://medium.com/@Borderless/expanse-behind-the-tech-omar-alvarez-6c9947f31ed



Sort:  

Good news...
Your information is so nice...
Useful.....

What a good post I need your information in the future, I love steemit and all that is associated with it. Thank you very much for the post.

Great to hear, Best of luck for your future projects. I hope it's gonna help a lot to the users :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70744.80
ETH 3561.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.80