I'm baaaack! Update on Laptop Status

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

So I did my Clean Install. I just CANNOT get rid of Windows Defender. It uses up so much memory. I use Adaware, but Windows Defender just won't budge. The transition went smoothly and all my files were kept safe. I redownloaded my apps and stuff. I just need to redownload SWTOR and configure the Xbox Game Bar and all that stuff, but for now, everything is pretty much done, plus all my Chrome setting are back to what they were, all extentions and bookmarks in place.

So I discovered that the Xbox App NEEDS Windows Defender to run properly. So, whatever, I'm stuck with it.

All right, so did it fix the problems I was having? Some of them. The Disk used is much lower in % than what it was before. Memory is only intense when I use Chrome, otherwise, Defender uses up a good portion but it seems fine, and the CPU status and all that seems relatively ok. I Disabled a few things through Services and Set others to Manual, it helped. I also gave myself as Admin User a bunch of permissions that only System had before. But I still don't have permissions for Defender and few other things, but that's ok.

The next step is to set up my Xbox app and test the recording of my game console through Windows 10 and Xbox stream. And also to download SWTOR and see if PlaysTV records or if I have to use MSI Afterburner. In either case, everything is set up to record once I've got the game launched.

This evening a friend of mine came over. He was going to come with another of our friends, but she cancelled last minute, so he came alone. It was chill. We had a good laugh, played a game after supper with the kids, us three adults (Frank, Guillaume and I) and we had lots of fun.

Time for me to relax, after all those reinstalls and what nots, and all the chores I've done in the past couple of days. Going to be catching up on all the stuff I want to share here too. Hopefully my games work well now, but I know that it made a significant difference to the overall performance of the laptop, so that's good to know. We all need a good refresher from time to time ;)

pexels-photo-204611.jpeg

Sort:  

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

This evening a freind of mine came over.
It should be friend instead of freind.

Thanks for the typo alert. I didn't reread myself before posting :p

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66598.01
ETH 3236.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66