Wishing what I know now, and the regrets of later life

in #blog7 years ago




This morning while i was on the road to work I was suddenly caught aware of a beautiful song playing over the radio. Not some "latest smash hits" or release, You know, the songs that's beautiful because its a classic songs that's evergreen even 20 years later (And thank God for radio stations that don't play the same tired, recycled, lame Top 40 pop hits 200 times a day).

So i went home and googled whatever lyrics i remembered in my head and what have you! its a frigging ROD STEWART CLASSIC!!!!!


Rod Stewart - Ooh la la (1998) Original song by Ronnie Lane in 1974



I like the way the legend mixed Irish folk music with a tinge of the good ol' Rod Stewart Rock and Roll. The flute, violin and the twangy guitar part was as dance-able as Irish pub music can be, after all it's performed by The Coors. Okay, they are a classic Irish folk band and now many young people know them. But who doesn't love The Coors after knowing about them? And all throughout the song, a particular phrase struck a deep chord in me, and got me into a deep reflection on how i live my life.


I wish that I knew what i know now when i was younger, I wish that I knew what i know now when i was stronger..

But wait @awesomianist! You're only 23! That's an old people phrase!!!

Haha! yep, i know it sounds pretentious. Though hear me out. The way I interpret the song that fits my life is that I am certain I will sigh one day and say out the exact phrase. "I wish that I knew what i know now when i was younger". But this phrase will be said by an Older me in the future in regards to the way i lived now. One day I'll be old and and looking back to now, there will be things I will wish i did better. I know for a fact and strive everyday so that the me tomorrow will be better than me today.

And so with that premonition in mind, I can constantly remind myself that:

  1. I do not know everything, so It's better to listen to advice than to shut them out. Sure not all advice is good, however, if i listen to 10 advice today and 8 of them has flawed logic, at least I've gain 2 advice that will help me.
  2. I will never be able do things "perfectly". Perfection is unattainable, there is always room for progress no matter how much i think i'm good at it. So why stop yourself from doing something out of fear doing imperfectly and then regret later for having done it?
  3. What i know today may be completely be obsolete or wrong tomorrow. The world is always changing because I myself is always changing. There's no use subscribing to a set of belief and feel like the universe revolves around it. Things will change.
  4. I am young (duh). No matter what i do today, i'll always come back in hindsight and see where i could do better. Which is possible because i learned something new only because i did that something today. The worst regrets in life is not caused by action but by inaction.

So do you think you would grow old and look back at yourself now and say "I wish i knew then what i know now"? Would knowing that change the way you see yourself today? Let me know what you think!




Stock Image used is taken by Ed Gregory under CC0 License.
Sort:  

Bob Marley once said-

The good thing about music is when it hits you, you feel no pain.

Often a good song inspire me to think deep. Maybe it was one such moment for you :)

Indeed it was

Wow @rahul.stan, that is so true!

Nice song:) I totally agree with your 4 points

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63134.74
ETH 3052.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81