Your English???????

in #blog5 years ago

"Your English?

"yes" I relied and mouths of customers drop open wide.

Why is it so strange that I am english? what is wrong with and english man working in a takeaway?

When I first started customers always complained, something missing from orders, orders going to the wrong address and confusion in the shop, but that has all now changed.

A regular customer of the shop came in after 4 months away from ordering from us, he decided to use a different business for his food needs and I can understand why.

he popped in because he had just got off the bus and decided that he wanted something to eat with his long walk home.

He came in and asked for a pizza, at the time I was out on delivery and as he was waiting I turned up, I walked into the shop and said hello to the other staff in their lingo.

The guy smiled at me as he waited for his food and I gave him a smile back as I counted the money into the till.

I then looked up and said, "so how are you today then?"

His face looked shocked as he replied to me, "your english?"

I replied, "last time I looked on my birth certificate I was yes."

This is when he told me about all the bad times he had ordering from the takeaway, I did what i could by telling him that things had changed.

He looked at me like I was lying but I was there to show him that I was right.

I checked his order, and made sure the food that he got was what he asked for. he left on his way home, and I really didn't think that i would hear or see from him again.

About an hour later the guy phoned the shop, I happened to be in the shop as at that time of night we tend to quieten down and there isn't much to do.

I answered the phone and he said to me "are you that englishman who served me tonight?"

"why, yes I am" I replied.

He then told me that I had won him over and that he was going to use the takeaway again as he knew he was going to get the order right.

He then went on to tell me that I was a bit of a celebrity around the area, and I asked him what he was going on about.

he went on to tell me that he had gone on shitty facebook and posted a post about the pizza he had just had and other people also spoke up about how good the service is and how nice the food was.

He then said to me, had I checked the just eat reviews? No, why, and he said you want to take a look. here is the just eat review of some of the customers that like me.

111wew.JPG

1111rsdf.JPG

aadss.JPG

I am not taking full credit as we are a team but it is nice that delivery and service get mentioned in these reviews don't you think?

I am happy that the service is better now and everyday I am there I try and help the staff with better customer service as i am a big believer that is what makes a great eating place.

I have also gone through other reviews before I started working there and it has to be said that they aren't great.

Maybe we are doing something right, love working there and I hope that when I open my takeaway that they keep doing as well as I just want good things for them.

@artonmysleeve

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97