20 Minute Blog a Day - Meditation Mantras

in #blog6 years ago

Meditation Mantras



source pixabay

About two years ago I started a daily meditation practice. It was difficult to stick with - some days I skipped or was so distracted that I couldn't get anything from it but I stuck with it. I started with guided meditations which gave me the crutch I needed to get started.

Eventually I graduated to doing it alone - first I tried just 5 minutes, my mind would go crazy and I'd need to constantly stop the chatter. Then I noticed the chatter was getting easier to quiet.. before I knew it 15 minutes was flying by.

After a few months I started getting comfortable with myself, my thoughts, the chatter - I could slip into that silence with a bit more stealth. This does not mean it lasts.. the silence comes followed by thoughts followed by me putting those thoughts aside and returning to oneness.

In an attempt to reconnect myself to the quiet connection I fall back on mantras which calm my busy mind or shut down a thought of worry. Before I left my thinking mind spiral off into a worry or a to-do or what someone said to me - I wrangle my self and start with my mantras.

I love mantras and affirmations. I think everyone can benefit from them! Remember your subconscious rules your thinking brain; whether you'd like to admit it or not - it does. Repetition is a great way to send a message to your subconscious. That's why mantras and affirmations are so special!

I listened to quite a few in my early days of meditation discovery. Check around the web because there are some great ones out there!

However, there's nothing better than making your own mantras!

Slowly I've crafted mine over the last year and a half I think and it truly helps me. I find myself repeating it to myself throughout the day, too. When I'm bored at work or frustrated or feeling under-appreciated and it brings me a ton of comfort.

As my 20 mins is just about up for today I want to quickly share one of my mantras with you all - maybe you'll choose to use it or adopt a piece of it that resonates with you!

I am an extension of the Universe.
I am evolving - infinite - expanding - indefinite - omnipresent.
I am on purpose with a purpose.
I am a being of light and love.
I am connected to the collective - a reflection of the Universe.

I hope you choose to include meditation and mantras in your life as well!


I have quite a few others that maybe I'll share down the road. Thanks for checking out my daily blog!


Sort:  

I will share mine, I don't speak out loud I only think it & it's a repetitive exercise that I perform before I sleep when I awake & if anything gets me down during my waking life I perform it as necessarily as needed.

I am eternal,
I am immortal,
I am universal,
I am infinite,
I am sovereign of my own existence,
I am truly grateful for what I have received,
I am ready to receive again,
Show me love,
Show me truth,
Show me peace.
Show me happy,

I say show me as apposed to give me because I only need to see it for it to affect me in that way (Newtons 3rd law) & or (the law of attraction).

I love this! Thank you @professorhobo for sharing! I say mine in my own head too lol sometimes I do a bit of chanting but only when I'm super stressed lol
and I totally agree with the show me phrases - such a believer in the LOA and who can argue with physics right?!

What about one from me just for you:
-- You are wisdom --

Very kind thank you.

very good @amariespeaks we need you strong and feeling vitalized... So keep it up ;)

Hi! Thanks for your support, @growingpower just upvoted your comment ;) Hope you have a great day

@amariespeaks I struggle with meditation ... can't be quiet. And if I do manage to sit quietly with no interruptions, I'm so exhausted I fall asleep! Desperate for a change of lifestyle! I think a mantra might be the way to begin.

mantras work really well for me. Your mind is a like a muscle, you have to start off with a 2lb dumbell long before you can bench press. Be easy on yourself when you start :) just take baby steps @leighleigh I used to be anxiety ridden and suffer from insomnia & chronic migraines but 2 yrs later I sleep 7hrs and have been headache free and off meds for a year now! you can do it too ✊✌

You are so right @amariespeaks. I spend three quarters of my day in a preschool/junior primary school and the other quarter at the gym (doing the admin I must add, not gymming LOL). I should grasp the concept of baby steps as it applies in both these environments! Really need a decent night's sleep, at least more than 3 hours! I am a being of light and love .... a place to start.

yay! so glad to see you starting! The busier the better I always say and with all that going on you can totally use some calming and centering self talk! Just take a nice, smooth deep breath and say it silently. Saves my ass when I'm feeling over-worked!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87