You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A criticism of the phrase "Poverty is a state of mind"

in #blog5 years ago

It's funny because I just saw a pretty interesting video with that phrase (

) and thought maybe your post was related to it, and in fact it is, in the video this mindset is discussed.

I agree with you, it's not a lack of intelligence but tools to advance to a new economic level because it is a socioeconomic phenomenon, just as you said. I've been really poor in some stages of my life and I was always thinking of ways to get money because "it's out there and you just have to reach it!", and though I had many ideas I just couldn't make them true because I didn't have and couldn't get the tools I needed. I think the level of poverty may determine how much you can do to change that, like how much of the tools that I need I can get. This is something that sadly many people don't understand and should to be thought.

I'm glad I found someone writing about it. Nice post! :)

Sort:  

Hey! Cool video. He strays a bit from the topic sometimes but always manages to come back. I think that what he talks about is exactly what I was referring to. Rich people are a very, very small percentage of the population, and if just having the right mindset were the key to getting rich, the gap would be smaller. Yet rich people are always encouraging people to follow in their steps, as if their path to wealth were easily reproducible.

Thanks for sharing the video. :)

Something I've always found a bit funny to include in my analyses is that education is one of the resources people have or don't have access to. So if someone is uneducated due to an unprivileged social position, they'll never have the "right ideas" or opportunities, so it could be considered as a simple matter of fate, choosing your place in life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30