My 2018: Achievements and Failures - Career milestones and mismanagement!

in #blocktradescontest6 years ago (edited)

The deadline for @anomadsoul’s “Achievements and Failures” contest ends at midnight PST. I’m in the midwest, so I can still make this happen. I literally just posted my entry for @blewitt’s “Guilty Pleasures” contest, so I can retire for the evening knowing I did my part in continuing to churn the Steemit community engagement stew. This weekend, I’ll be announcing the winners for Trail by Comics’ theme, “Free Draw”, so with all this engagement happening, I say fuck you bear market! We’re doing just fine.

2018 was quite the rollercoaster. Based on 2017, this year hasn’t at all shaped up the way I expected. Cryptocurrency and Steemit was something I discovered through @mada and @lovejoy in the summer of 2016. My first Steemit post earned more than $1600. In addition to fully, blindly, loyally decided that Steemit would become a daily part of my life, it also set me up for wavering reality of what my future would look like going forward. It changes with the wind […or more accurately, fluctuation of the market].

Most of 2017, I was traveling and shooting nonstop. I’d signed a contract with @wcpublishing to publish my first photography art book. It would be titled Dark Pinup, my attempt to plant my flag in a genre of photography […a sub-genre of pinup] that I’d unintentionally created [Actually, I didn’t come up with the term dark pinup. People began referring to my work as that and it just stuck]. The book was to release at the Viva Las Vegas Rockabilly Weekend this year.

April 19th, 2018 was my greatest achievement of the year. One that’ll be hard to top next year, or for many years to follow. The book release party of Dark Pinup. The culmination of eight straight months of painstaking editing, design, writing and layout, and almost 20 years of exhausting travel and refinement of a skill and photographic voice that is uniquely my own. The book reflects that. Seeing it in print, even now, gives me a sense that I’ve made good use of my time here on earth. I have something to show for it all.

*Lovely @eveuncovered from her shoot and Steemit post, "I Got the Dark Pinup Book by @Kommienezuspadt".

I remember first discovering eBay around 1997. I bought a box of collectible pinup cards by painter, Olivia De Berardinis. One of the models was @masuimimax, who I went on to follow. I clearly remember having copies of Bizarre magazine with her on the cover in my apartment when I was 19. Fast forward to 2018, and she was headlining as the burlesque performer at my book release party! That is what I mean by “…this year is going to be hard to top.”. It still seems absolutely surreal.

But, you can’t have these wins without the occasional loss. Overall, I feel 2018 gave me more than it took, but it did take. I hate to pile on with the gloom, but my biggest failure of 2018 was mismanaging my earnings on Steemit and other cryptocurrencies. I am a HODLER, without a doubt. It’s not that I had intentions of taking everything out at the top and saying “….screw you, blockchains!”, but I do have a family to support. Am I still able to support them without cryptocurrency? Sure.

My plan was to take out roughly my annual income. With that money, I intended to spend less time traveling, more time with @vermillionfox and @guthrie, and finally focus an entire year of transitioning in to comics full time. I love photography, but as most of you know, comics and writing is where my heart is. The longer I’m unable to pursue that dream, the more resentful I find myself that I have to get on planes and fly to beautiful cities and photograph gorgeous women in lingerie [HAHA! I just imagine @anomadsoul reading that last sentence wanting to axe kick me in the face].

I know STEEM and the entire market is going to recover, and I know I’ll have my chance to get lost in comic book stories and graphic novels with @ghostfish, working on @coppercoins and other dark projects, but it won’t be this year. Tom Lee keeps insisting that BTC will be at $15K by the end of the year, so let’s hope he’s right and we’re all wrong, but in reality, I’ll have to face the fact that my inherent bullish optimism was […and probably always will be] my greatest failure of 2018.

Thanks for coming up with this contest @anomadsoul, and thank you @blocktrades for sponsoring it. I always stroll through Steemit during these slow times and make mental notes of who’s here, still participating. I love having so many friends that stand bravely against a bear market, continually coming up with ways to add value to this platform, regardless of the priceless, leadership or lack there of. Thanks for reading. For more photography, art, illustration and thoughts about life and Steemit, follow me here @kommienezuspadt!

Sort:  

Great post ;)

Great read as usual. 2018 sounds like it was a pretty kick ass year. I’d also like one of those books. Lol

I will be buying one soon. Along with one of @yidneth’s cd’s.

Awww, thank you :)

Been meaning to but also it’s the toughest time of the year. Early next year I’ll be in a better spot financially.

Aww no worries, it is there for whenever it may be.

Sounds great. ❤️

Haha... sorry for laughing (more hysterically), but so many things sound so familiar. Artists life... roller coaster for sure!

As for cryptocurrency, I really panicked, when I saw all I put away with so much effort melt away like that. In the end I took it as an opportunity to scoop up some, mainly steem.... just to see it fall even more :-/

Dark Pinup is definitely a major accomplishment! My friends love it, when they see it on my "coffee table".. unfortunately they mostly find 80 Euro (inkluding shipping) hard to spare for a book. We suggest, you have the next edition with Taschen, please, so we can just walk in a store here to get it :-)

You really do so much for our community and I always feel lazy when I see the catalogue of what you achieve, but you inspire me to push myself harder to fit MORE into my schedule.

I'm not worried about the market because one truth with markets seems to be that what goes down does eventually go up!

Incredible reading It has been a 2018 loaded with many emotions!
very good things and I hope that bad things or failures improve for 2019.
although, if we put ourselves to see, there will always be something that suseda at some time that we do not like and then come the lessons of life


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

I really enjoy your publication and everything you do is so interesting. I also hope that the future market will rise and we can continue to pursue our dreams. You have a beautiful family!.

Time with the family and making comics is just something I can relate closely to. I hope you will have more of both in the new year!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65836.42
ETH 2694.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87