Blockchain Memory Project - My Christmas Miracle

in #blockchainmemoryproject6 years ago (edited)

The memories I will be sharing with you, is about my life as a working gal.

My dream was to one day be a concert pianist; classical music being my favoured genre. My dearest uncle was a ballet dancer and I used to get all starry eyed going to ballets like Swan Lake, The Nutcracker, and more; yes Tchaikovsky being my absolute favourite classical composer!
Rulov Dancing.JPG

Rulov (my late uncle) on stage

The Durban City Hall is one of the most beautiful city halls, and the full Philharmonic Orchestra could just be seen performing in the orchestra pit while the ballet company weaved their magic on stage, and I was one day going to be the concert pianist!

First job - Learner Draftswoman - Quested & Watt
Life however took me on a different path - I took on a post as a learner draftswoman with a Land Surveying firm. I must say, this was the best choice I ever made.

Enter Arthur via Sylvia
Our dreams do not always turn out the way we want them to, probably just as well in this instance, as I would never have met my husband Arthur who was introduced to me by a work colleague, Sylvia.

Sylvia was a madcap of a woman who used to drive stock cars on weekends, and was not afraid to teach me to drive, however not in a stock car!
A stock car basically is a car that has been strengthened and used in a race where competing cars collide with each other, yep madness, but that was dear Sylvia!
Stock cars wikimedia commons.jpg
Image

Sylvia's dream
Sylvia also had a dream - started a business from her kitchen with very little outlay, making her own brand of Garlic Butter. She now has a little factory supplying two large supermarket chains' bakeries, and her husband and two of her children work for her!

I’ve been blessed by meeting the most wonderful people throughout my working life, many who have become lifelong friends; I stayed with this firm for 15 years, only taking two 18 month breaks when I had my two sons.

Second job - Survey Draftswoman - Cliff, Harvey & Partners
I moved onto another larger firm of land surveyors and stayed there for 14 years, again meeting lifelong friends.

The company partnership eventually dwindled to only a father and son, field personnel and three in the drawing office; the work coming in also declined.

My best friend was the first draftsperson to be retrenched, and shortly thereafter the other draftsman got his retrenchment notice, I would be the only one left running the drawing office; it was scary times!

I had applied for a position with our local municipality’s survey department, but they have a very strict affirmative action policy and I honestly did not see myself being successful there.
My young ex work colleague and best friend Jashiela (Josh) had also applied - there were six positions open - and was immediately appointed as she fitted the Employment Equity requirement. I was unsuccessful!

I resigned myself to staying at the old firm and hoped things would improve.

My Christmas miracle
Then my Christmas miracle happened when the telephone call came from the HR asking if I was still interested as one candidate had turned down the position?
Well, you could have blown me over with a feather!

I had a lovely Christmas and so did my colleague whose retrenchment was withdrawn.

I actually took a chance with handing in my notice to save his job, as there was still a grievance period of two weeks before I could be appointed officially.

Slipped Disc
I further still had to undergo a medical examination, but did not foresee any issues with that; that was until I suffered a massive slipped disc in my neck early in January!

The day I received the call from my prospective employer asking me to come in for the medical exam, was the day I was preparing to be admitted for neck surgery.

Third job - GIS Technician - Ethekwini Municipality
I thought I had blown it all, that the job offer would be withdrawn as I would need four weeks to recuperate, but fortunately my new employer was sympathetic and advised that my appointment would merely be delayed by a month, so all turned out well in the end!

I was very happy in my new workplace, ended up sitting next to my friend Josh just like old times, made many new friends, and learned a lot as I was moved to the Geographic Information Systems Department, much more exciting than survey drafting.

Final job - Owner/Manager - Lily's Cottage Durban West
I retired in 2016 to run our little bnb here at home, the best job ever, and I now meet the most awesome people from near and far.

I still see many of my old work colleagues, some pay me a visit when working in our area, and others are close friends who I see regularly like my dear friend Josh.

Josh & I still see our previous employers on special occasions, the senior partner who turned 90 this year, was amazingly still doing the odd bit of land surveying up until two years ago!

CHAPPS group.jpg
Our very special ex employers who are like family, Kevin & Harold Harvey, Josh & I, taken last year

So although I never full-filled my dream of being a concert pianist, I ended up having an interesting career and now enjoy my new role even more in our little bnb called Lily’s Cottage!
Lilys Cottage front page logos.jpg

A big thank you to @ericvancewalton for initiating the #blockchainmemoryproject, an awesome way to store our memories before it all fades away in the sands of time.
Read all about his Blockchain Memory Project and start storing your memoirs here on the blockchain for future generations.


Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by; comments, upvotes and resteems all much appreciated :)
Copyright @lizelle - All Rights Reserved
signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

SteemEngine.gif

Sort:  

It is interesting how our lives take twists and turns. In my wildest dreams as a youngster, I would never have imagined I would have such a large family, travel the world and end up owning a homestead in a third world country!

It certainly does just that @cecicastor! You certainly have led an interesting life, although scary now with the problems in Nicaragua, thank you for popping in, always nice seeing you :)

That was quite a trip down memory lane, it is never to late to take a playing the keys. Who knows where there next phone call might come from?
If anyone from Subway sandwich shop is on here , you might be creating the next big sandwich for that chain of sandwich shops.

One never knows what's waiting around the corner hey :):) But I think I'm quite satisfied with making a sandwich or two a week for steemit ;) Have an ancient piano (still with the original copper candle holders attached) but it's in need of restoration or probably time to change to a modern one but I'm a sentimental fool, so it still holds pride of place in the lounge!

interesting you didn't become pianist but still your job was related to do complicated things with your palms

Quite true hey @skytoin, I never thought of it like that ;)

It's great getting to know more about your journey @lizelle! Thanks for your contribution!

Thank you for the surprise SBD :):)

You’re welcome!

Thank you for starting this @ericvancewalton, maybe one day a grandchild (if I ever have any) becomes curious about her grandma ;)

First of all, I can't believe you still keep such old photo, the oldest I ever seen. Secondly, the car looks very similar to nascar.

You story is MAGNIFICENT!!! There were sad times and good times, In some way I felt connected to you story . Seeing that you had a wonderful present life makes me really happy for you!

Ah thank you so very much @alansthoughs, you are very kind! Yes I'm really enjoying my new job plus loving all the food contests and making new friends here steemit :) By the way the car photo was courtesy of wikimedia but all the others my own. My very special late uncle's photos are very precious, tragically he was murdered in 2012 but that is a very very sad story I have touched on previously :(

Awesome entry into the memory project.

Thank you so very much @coldsteem:)

isnt it so interesting how our lives journey may take twists and turns but looking back perhaps many of the twists and turns although not expected all lead us to where we are now and for me thats a good thing

your bnb looks so charming

tip!

So very true @tattoodjay, we never know what's waiting around the corner hey! But most times things work out as they're meant to. Thanks for stopping by :)

My pleasure to visit

I agree most thing happened fir a reason even if we cannot see why at the time

Your post was resteemed by @resteemza
Please upvote this reply to help us grow

Resteemza image small.jpg

Join us on discord:
discord invite

My friend how are you, you very nice in the photo you know I love your stories that makes me know you more and feel that we are more friends
Although you did not achieve your greatest dream, you achieved many more and you must feel proud of yourself for your effort and dedication.

Ah so nice seeing you here Jenni, I always look out for you my friend :)
That photo came out so fuzzy, it was in a hall and the lighting was not very good, but was so nice seeing our old boss, still so upright for his age!

Although it is blurred you look good greet grandma on my part

Will do Jenni, hope you're keeping well!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28