You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Understanding Blockchain Freedom — Episode 002: What Is Cryptocurrency?

in #blockchainfreedom7 years ago

I’ve a question about the liberty video. I agree with the principles and I wonder how to dissuade people from commiting any of the listed crimes like murder or theft. If someone commits these crimes, what is the resolution? According to the video, no one has the right to take away freedom or property from another person. That rules out using prison or fines as a method of punishing criminals. How would criminals be disuaded in a society without consequences?

Sort:  

Here's one of my favorite videos on that topic: Law without Government: Conflict Resolution in a Free Society. I also enjoyed Rothbard's For a New Liberty. There are a lot of mechanisms which become available when we remove the stagnating effect of non-natural monopolies (especially those backed by violent force). Detroit Threat Management is another interesting example. When government protection services broke down in Detroit, they started providing services using techniques no one had thought to use and with great success.

First, I am very doubtful that such a system would work smoothly without any major conflict.

Overall, I don’t think all economies can work efficiently in a free market setup. For example, healthcare is one system that operates poorly under a totally free market. I’m not sure about law enforcement.

Even though governments have brought some stability in some places, they have committed horrific crimes. A better solution may lie in between the current major systems and a more free market system.

Conflict can be handled without violence. We just have to level up.

Have we ever seen healthcare under a totally free market? I'm not disagreeing with you directly because you may be right, I'm just curious what datasets we can use to evaluate the question. I do think competing options can bring regulation which is more adaptive than government regulation, but I might be wrong about that.

I'm all for systems which are voluntary and don't rely on violence.

I am in favor of testing and experimenting different ideas.

In healthcare, one of the vital decisions is, are we going to let people die if they don’t have money or insurance. Maybe some people wouldn’t want this to happen and they’ll set up a universal healthcare outside the government based on volunteerism.

We're part of a voluntary health sharing organization (not technically health insurance but serves the same purpose). No need for government violence for people to get together and help each other.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00