Just Lost Aion, Carefully Swap Your Tokens

in #blockchain5 years ago

I am in the process of swapping my Aion tokens from the Ethereum network to Aion native blockchain. The swap must be completed by the end of November. After that all tokens left on the Ethereum network will be useless, so make sure to do your swap by then.

Aion has put up a good tutorial on how to swap the tokens here: https://docs.aion.network/v1.1/docs/swap-overview

Make sure you follow the instructions exactly or you will lose your funds.

Here is where I screwed up:

After placing my new Aion wallet address into the transaction generator on the bridge page, I made changes to the pre-populated information in My Ether Wallet (MEW)

Make sure you leave everything exactly as is in MEW! DO NOT place a value in the 'Amount To Send' box. DO NOT switch from ETH to AION. If you do this (like I did) your tokens will be gone!

Thankfully I did a test transaction with 1 AION to test the process, but that token is still lost forever. It is always a good idea to do a transaction with a very small value the first time you are using a new process or address.

Hopefully this will help anyone who is getting ready to swap their AION.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66077.75
ETH 3167.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01