Blockchain Courses to be featured in Nigeria's University

in #blockchain6 years ago

blockchain-3499326__340.jpg
Source

Walking down memory lane on how Blockchain and Cryptocurrency caught my attention, I owe a big thanks to Steemit and then of course University of Nicosia.
Having joined Steemit last year June, I blogged basically for the fun of it still do so till date couple with the community and family I got afterwards.
I remember surfing the internet last year and stumbling on University of Nicosia, Cyprus accepting Bitcoin mode of School fees payment. I was astonished and sent a mail to them instantly.
April this year, I met a Student and Blockchain entrepreneur who is enrolled in a Masters Degree program on Blockchain technology at Nicosia, Cyprus.

IMG_20181005_112507_700.jpg

I was marvelled on how fast Universities could integrate Blockchain curriculum and courses in their system. Shortly after University of Nicosia, so many other Universities started programs on Blockchain and Cryptocurrency.

I pondered on when innovative technological programs could be integrated in Africa's academic system.
Graduate unemployment in my country is attributable to four (4) factors to me
Firstly, Archaic curriculum and Teaching method from Stakeholders in the Educational sector
Secondly, "Parallel lifestyle society holds which most Parents are still so used to

Go to School
Get good grades
Get a job afterwards

Thirdly, most African youths are so used to Theoretical knowledge and sidelining the most important Practical knowledge and skill acquisition.
Lastly, the Government's focus on 'Paper Qualification' thus, portraying a higher value in certificate than " Sabificate" (Nigeria's Pidgin translation for Skill acquisition).

university-2119707__340.jpg
Source

I had thought it could take decades before Nigeria's Universities will adopt this amazing technology but I was wrong.
Covenant University a Topmost Private University in Nigeria broke the jinx and set the pace for others to follow.

Aerial-View_imagelarge.jpg
Covenant University, Ota

Covenant University's interest on Blockchain is a step in the right direction and our own @tojukaka is an anchor man and Blockchain Educator and Evangelist there.
I saw his post on Facebook and Steemit and was excited and enthused.
See @tojukaka's post here

The program is about Blockchain Hackathon. I believe it's focus is on EOS.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28