Could Quantum Computing Render Blockchain Security Meaningless?

in #blockchain6 years ago

Quantum computing breaks blockchain.png

Could Quantum Computing Render Blockchain Security Meaningless?

There exists a race further develop two fairly recent technologies: decentralized blockchains (Bitcoin being the most notable example) and quantum computing. Blockchain technology promises to deliver secure, transparent, and immutable transactions between multiple parties and usher in an age where traditional financial institution are rendered unnecessary.

Some pundits have even argues that blockchain and cryptocurrency technologies are set to have a greater impact on society than the internet itself. Where as quantum computing, in principle, could solve mathematical problems in minutes that would take classical computer thousands upon thousands of years to solve. This technology will have the potential provide human kind with unparalleled processing power to tackle some of the most challenging problems. It has the potential to change the global financial system as we know it.

Using history as a guide, technological advances can often be a two-edged sword. Atomic research, for example, has provided much of energy to meet needs with developed economies. But there are environmental and health risks associated with the usage and disposal of nuclear materials; and there remains the specter armed conflict between nations with nuclear capable weapons within their arsenals. So it is with the advances surrounding quantum computing that one has to consider possible risks associated with that technology.

Bad actors. This could include hostile governments, organized crime, rogue elements within legitimate governments, individuals engaged in corporate espionage, etc. I think you get the picture. History is replete with examples of whenever or whereever there is lots of wealth to be had, crime and violence will certainly follow. If blockchains and the cryptocurriencies riding on top of them are to become the foundation upon which the world's new economies constructed and if quantum computing can render security current mechanisms useless, then, by what means will blockchains be able to defend against these bad actors and other potential treats?

Quantum Blockchains

Quantum cryptography is a field of research (based on quantum mechanics) that seeks to add an uncrackable layer of security to blockchains. The laws of physics will ensure the integrity of data and protect access to that data through a mechanism based on quantum entanglement. After their formation, two subatomic particles share entangled properties (regardless of distance involved) and if one of the particles is disturbed, symmetry is broken and partner particle is forced to assume an opposite state. Researchers, such as Del Rajan and Matt Visser at the Victoria University of Wellington in New Zealand, are experimenting with recording block entries onto quantum bits. Any attempts to tamper with data on the blockchain will cause the blockchain to become invalid. Similar technology could also provide foolproof encryption for carrying out transaction between differing blockchains.

If public blockchain technology is to attain a similar growth trajectory of the internet, or even surpass it, it is obvious that as quantum computing online, blockchain technology must blend with quantum computing to remain a viable solution for the future.

A very interesting article covering this topic in much greater detail can be found at MIT Technology Review.

Sort:  

This topic has always been of interest to me even though admittingly I barely understand the math involved.
However, I do understand big numbers. To crack a cryptocurrency wallet, I understand you need a very big number. Even with a very good quantum computer, I understand this very big number will only get marginally smaller. For example instead of taking 90 billion years to crack it may go down by a factor of 10000 to 9 million years or something.
Correct me if I am wrong, but I believe the risk is over exaggerated.

I must readily admit that I am also no expert this topic. Like you, I just have a very keep interest for the subject matter. Nevertheless, you might find these sources particularly interesting:

  1. Quantum computing for the determine

  2. Quantum computing for the qubit curious

  3. Computer performance by orders of magnitude

Your comments and upvote are greatly appreciated, thanks.

I've been wondering about this for quite some time and i wonder how secure will our data be once this solution will be already accessable for those who can afford

ps. why did you stop posting new content/

Many thanks for your previous reply. My jobs schedule requires much of my time and since I desire to only post quality content, which requires appropriate time and effort, my posts tend to be infrequent. However, when I do post my focus on very much on quality rather than quantity. As you may have noticed in the header section of my blog page I described myself as a technology enthusiast and travel can. Although I enjoy these two subjects very much I have made comments (and hopefully added value to the discussion) on various other topics. One might consider my interests as somewhat eclectic, but technology, science, and discovery through travel rank at the top.

Again, thanks for stopping by to leave your comments. Wish you continued success and fun on Steemit.

Wow. what an impressive reply. thank you for your time

im glad you decided to share your thoughts with me

I will do my best to support you here on steemit. cheers, Piotr

Wow. what an impressive reply. thank you for your time

im glad you decided to share your thoughts with me

I will do my best to support you here on steemit. cheers, Piotr

it's me again.

by what means will blockchains be able to defend against these bad actors and other potential treats?

just wanted to add, that the biggest problem with using quantum computing is that it will cost a lot. so it may not be very profitable to use it against blockchain.

definetly it is huge threat

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97