What I Picked up Yesterday at the Iconomi (ICN) Meet the Managers Event - Iconomi @ Amsterdam

in #blockchain6 years ago (edited)

Yesterday I attended the Iconomi - Meet the Managers event at Wicked Ground in Amsterdam. They organized it pretty well. The venue was perfect for the group + food and drinks were provided :-)


20180425_101817.jpg

The event started at 4pm and ended at 7pm after which there was the opportunity of networking with the Iconomi team and the other attendees.

I’ve been watching Iconomi for quite a while, but never really looked at it in-depth. I like the idea of making investing in baskets of crypto projects easy and there is definitely demand for this. At the event I hoped to get a bit more insight into how those funds (DAAs) we can invest in work and how they pick the coins/tokens they invest in. Unfortunately I found out that that was not really the theme of the event, but still I learned a bit about that and some other stuff.

The program was as follows:


Screen Shot 2018-04-25 at 13.45.07.png


Screen Shot 2018-04-25 at 13.45.26.png

Interesting snapshots


After a welcome from the CEO of Iconomi, a representative from Deloitte, Gorazd Ocvirk, talked about the recent audit that was done by them. He explained the principles of Iconomi’s blockchain audit and how Deloitte developed an approach to proof of solvency that takes into account the fact that it is a blockchain project, which comes with certain characteristics. What makes is interesting is the fact that this is the first time something like this has been done and it might help the space to work towards auditing standards.


20180424_164307.jpg


20180424_164533.jpg


20180424_164655.jpg


20180424_164743.jpg


20180424_164901.jpg


After Deloitte it was time for Menno Pietersen (https://twitter.com/MennoPP) to take the stage. Menno is the Digital Assets Array (DAA) manager of Carus-AR on the Iconomi platform and is not a stranger in the blockchain space. His talk was mostly about putting the development and adoption of blockchain technology in perspective. Menno’s presentation can be found here


20180424_165035.jpg


20180424_165604.jpg


Another DAA, Phoenix Paradigm Indicator, is managed by the guys of Phoenix Decentralized Solutions (https://twitter.com/PhoenixDecSol). Nathan Hartman is one of the founders and during his presentation he talked about how decentralization will shape our future. His main point was that decentralization is not new and has been around for centuries. Blockchain enables us to cut out all the middlemen and also be our own bank. Banks will need to change the way they do business and offer other kinds of services. We’ll see a big shift in the coming years.


20180424_171009.jpg


20180424_172606.jpg


The last talk was by Cain Ransbottyn (https://twitter.com/ransbottyn) from Belgium. Cain is also a DAA manager (Trade) and the title of his presentation was “Bitcoin is for losers”. We'll have to agree to disagree on that Cain :-P.


20180424_172856.jpg


Not only did he get attention because of the title of his presentation. Also the fact that he has a chip implanted in his hand, which he uses to open doors or pay at the register, got him some extra ears. Cain’s main point was that Bitcoin is not going to be the biggest crypto much longer as a result of better tech of other projects. Fun fact: he and some friends implanted the chip themselves since no doctor wanted to risk losing their licence to practice over it.


20180424_173102.jpg


20180424_174835.jpg


The last item on the agenda was a panel discussion on what it takes from blockchain to achieve mass adoption followed by some Q&A with the audience. The people on the stage we're quite knowledgeable so it was interesting to hear what they had to say about the matter.


20180424_175101.jpg

So, even though I didn’t get much wiser on the topic of asset selection by the DAA Managers, the event was still pretty nice :-) I might be interested in investing in crypto through one of the DAAs, but I'll have to look into their philosophies a bit more.

During the networking event I talked to some interesting people involved in different projects as well as some fellow investors. Always good to share thoughts!

I recommend everybody to join events like these or just some small meetups. Get out there and talk to other enthusiasts!


---> 👍🏼 Follow me for regular updates on my cryptocurrency portfolio, crypto related articles and inspiring articles about personal time & life management.
---> 👍🏼 Resteems and upvotes are appreciated ;-)


Disclaimer: I am not a financial advisor, trader or developer. I am just a blockchain & cryptocurrencies enthusiast. Make sure you do your own research, draw your own conclusions and do not invest any money that you cannot afford to lose.

Sort:  

Great .. though I wish also to know the criteria on which they select their basket of coins

True, I'll let you know when I discover more about that ;-)

What I do like is that you can at least see what each DAA is doing in terms of ROI and also in which coins they invest: https://www.iconomi.net/daa-list

Here is definitely my answer. Why do they have their own crypto? Was it to fund their project?

Amongst other things. I found this post that might be helpful for you: https://medium.com/market-caps/iconomi-token-usage-over-utility-ce6684db7d33

That's quite funny, I bought a very little ICN. But you don't want to know why 😬

Until now I honestly don't know if the coin is the same as the funds where we can invest in? I guess not.

Perhaps I should look into that some day.
Bummer I missed an event again. It also remembers me to go to...Wednesday one time.

What if I want to know? :-P

Bitcoin Wednesday is definitely worth it. The second batch of early bird tickets for the 2nd of May are now sold for 11 euro's (in BTC). Check out https://www.bitcoinwednesday.com/

I basically saw it as gambling. So I played it like roulette. And bought like 4 currencies at random and 4 picked myself. Luckily I didn't invest to much 😬

About bitcoin Wednesday, I prefer to pay with Ideal 😀. Otherwise it takes me half an hour extra 😥

You can only pay with crypto in advance at this moment. Only at the door you can pay with cash. During the events it is also only cash.

Did he tell what crypto was foing to surpass Bitcoin?
Thx for the feedback of the event!

Not really. Cains main points had to do with transaction speed, transaction fees and scalability. He doesn't see Bitcoin as having the best foundation for that. Even though Cain said he likes the Lightning Network a lot, he doesn't think Bitcoin will remain the biggest crypto.

Quite some people in the room didn't agree, which created an interesting discussion ;-)

Can imagine that bitcoin has a loyal group of followers who will defend it against everything!

Thanks for sharing. I'm not sure about that Bitcoin payment and inserting a chip into my hand, but I am starting to read up on Icon. I presently don't have any, but I have been hearing good things...

Me neither but implanted chips might be the future ;-)

Icon is an interesting project indeed. I like it.

Icon seems interesting project but implanting chip seems oO...

I think you present the bullet points information on a very good way. keep up the good work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02