A Beautiful Day For Adventure In Greece. Limni Vouliagmenis.

in #bliss6 years ago

Today is a day for adventure. I decide bike to the lake and explore ancient temples, 17.5k one way., 10 km up and then 7.5 km down.......So I decide to start my journey with a cappuccino, since I must pass by Perla and they make such tasty cappuccino.

IMG_8254.JPG

Going up! I love riding along this highway, the view is extraordinary!

IMG_8257.JPG

Made it to the top! Now we go down.....

IMG_8259.JPG

Destination is in sight, the lake off in the distance.

IMG_8272.JPG

Beautiful, definitely a must visit.

IMG_8295.JPG

IMG_8300.JPG

An ancient fountain. It's incredible to see and feel.

IMG_8324.JPG

I discovered this beautiful cave home behind the fountain.

IMG_8333.JPG

IMG_8332.JPG

IMG_8364.JPG

IMG_8352.JPG

I found the ancient temples!!! Stunning!

IMG_8367.JPG

Ancient Cistern

IMG_8375.JPG

IMG_8376.JPG

I didn't bring enough water, luckily I found some at the church!

IMG_8379.JPG

The lighthouse marking the end of the path.

IMG_8428.JPG

IMG_8433.JPG

Homeward bound, now the race to get home before sunset, 7.5 km up and 10 km down!

IMG_8444.JPG

IMG_8448.JPG

IMG_8451.JPG

IMG_8468.JPG

Home!!!

IMG_8473.JPG

IMG_8479.JPG

Bliss is what lives within
Connect within
Connect to bliss
You are love

With love
Aumsong
Embody You

Sort:  

What an amazing post!!! Thank you for sharing!!! I have been there ,I know the place ,but you make it look even more beautiful!! And what a poem at the end!!! Thank you .....

Thanks lovely. It was a beautiful day!!!

GORGEOUS photography @aumsong!!! You rock my friend 😎

Thanks! So do you.

Wonderful post @aumsong 💗💗💗

Thank you xoxoxoxooxox

I hope you enjoyed this wonderful place dear.... It is really beautiful!!!

yes I am! It is incredible beautiful!

the photo is amazing!!!
have a beautiful day!

yes, I did. I wish you a beautiful eve.

Great pictures, as always!

I'd like to comment a bit on the small "ikonostasi" .
( It's the small metal box with the cross on top)

"ikonostasi" means, in verbum pro verbo translation, an icon-stand. In Orthodox churches, it consists of a wall of Icons that separates the main body of the church from the sanctuary. In this case though we have a small one, outside of a church, that may or may not have an Icon in it!

In Greece and Cyprus, you can find this kind of small Icon-stands in the most strange of locations. On beaches, on mountains, on small windy country roads and on the side of busy highways. In some cases, they mark the place where an actual Icon, or some other holy relic, was found, but the majority of them (my apologies if this is becoming a bit macabre for the serenity of your actual post) were raised by the families of accident victims, as a sort of a shrine for their lost beloved people.

I wonder what sort of story lies behind that small Iconostasi near the lake! Is it a tragic one or one of a relic discovery?

Beautiful share. Yes, I wonder......

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94