Gold/Bitcoin, Silver/Bitcoin & Gold/Silver Ratios

in #bitcoin7 years ago

In case you were curious, this is life on 8/9/17:

gold-2588581_1920.jpg

It takes only 0.38 BTC for an ounce of gold ($1,277)

dollar-1294250_1920.jpg

You need 197 of these to equal just 1 BTC

bitcoin.jpg

And just for fun, 1 STEEM is currently trading at about $1.30 or so

steem.png

My question to you is this: what is currently overpriced? As a young investor, where would you place your bets? We obviously could include alt-coins like Litecoin or other investments like stocks, but narrowed down to the options of gold, silver, BTC, and STEEM, what would you do (or what are you currently doing?)

Personally, I think splitting things up into as wide as variety of investments is the smartest move in order to hedge your bets, but I must admit, I am not the person you want to take financial advice from. I am certainly not an expert; I can only speak from an "educated guess" perspective of a layman. To me, I think silver has a lot of potential to go up. I know some people think it's staying down for the long term (at least several years) but I think on a range of when I would be wanting to be in the accumulation stage vs. the sell stage, I would actually like to see that happen. Is it likely? I don't think so, but it wouldn't be the worst thing that could happen.

Bitcoin is a whole different game. It is the most real representation of risk in the entire economy. It's new (well, relativity speaking) and its unparalleled rise in the financial markets makes me envious of where I would be if I had known way back when. Bitcoin is a wildcard for me. I could just as well see it top the headlines with "$5,000 BTC!" as I can see it "$500 BTC!" because I just don't have something to compare it to. I guess the DOW Jones is like $22,000 so WTF, right?

Steemit is amazing, so of course I am going to say that I see STEEM increasing in value. I am hoping for $10 STEEM in the future (as I'm sure many else here are as well) so that is the target that I have in mind. Of course there is no guarantee anything will happen in the way we think it will, but Steemit's altcoin-based social networking concept is so fascinating to me that I have no fears if we don't reach that figure anytime soon.

stair-1392078_1920.jpg

Looking at the ratios, I think you should be able to get more gold per BTC, more gold for silver, & more STEEM for dollar. Do you agree or disagree?

Sort:  

The crypto may be about to really take off

Gold and Silver are typically undervalued, but their purpose isn't to get rich quick. It's to have something tangible and nonvolatile in your portfolio / vault. You can expect it to slowly go up in value and always be worth something. I can't say the same for bitcoin unless every retailer gets on board.

I think that's the thing though, everyone may be getting on board.

Congratulations @theabsolute! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77