Market Prepper #1 - "Don't Drown With the Lemmings!"

in #bitcoin7 years ago

Those of you who follow me know my Modus Operandi. I'm not a financial planner or advisor. I'm sharing what I'm doing - not what you should do. But I like to share. Sharing is CARING!

This is my first newsletter of THIS type. I will continue the series until I think it's no longer relevant. My hope is this: with all of the "alternative" financial chatter that I get - WE can ride the bull market until just the right moment; shore up an "alternative" downside parachute; and end up with enough cash to take advantage of the bottom when it happens - like I did in 2009. I was ready back then - and there's no reason for me to not expect the same when this bull market falls. When? Only God knows that (next 3 years - rumored)...

--------------Here We GO!-------

HOT TOPICS on 7/22/2017

Bull Market Lemmings-

There's no denying we are in a bull market. Everyone is buying. Problem is that they are all buying the same thing. Look at the mainstream financial subscription newsletters (I.e. not Motley Crue - but close). and they all say the same thing: Buy big names; already expensive stocks; etc. They are telling you to do what EVERYONE else is doing. YUGE waste of time. The only financial news I trust is from Stansberry, Bonner, Palm Beach , Gold Stock Analyst and their "partners". They are the ONLY ones who honestly think outside the box and back it up with A LOT of in depth research and leg-work. Right now, millions are buy, buy, buy!! APPLE, GOOGLE, AMAZON, everyone's buying the same stuff. In general people are thinking they are going to buy these (already inflated) stocks and then hoping to sell, sell, sell before the CRASH. Remember 2008? I do. It sucked - but not just because of the election. The frenzied buying leading up to that drove all of us to have "Hope" - and I'm not talking about an Obama type. Best thing Obama did back then was ask, "Why not buy stocks?". Well, he was a bit premature- but those with some cash before the crash made a killing. That's where I want to be (again) at the next downturn..... WHEN? All indications and speculation from many many sources say between late 2018-2021. That's a 3 year spread! Stocks usually plummet in a 6 month time period. So, we're in a dangerous position. None of us can react without emotion and quickly enough ahead of a crash. The euphoric attitude and Trump train has got us "full steam ahead" in our drive of confidence. Best you can do is WHAT? Of course - Diversify. Duh. Bet you never heard that before. However, I'm not talking a usual "planner mix" of stocks, bonds, cash, mutuals. THINK outside the BOX!!! Read on....

Cryptocurrencies-

Yep, they are hot. Well until some financial writer last week wrote something negative - forecasting a dip. What'd it do? It dipped! Fake news? Yep. I'm sure he jumped right in and bought some. What a "Richard Noggin"! News drives the market. Long term? NO. Will cryptos die? Some will. Everyone wants to invent one, do an ICO, get rich & then what? I'm buying a little. Maybe 5% of my portfolio. And I'm not buying new junk. Not entirely true.... Well, maybe a little - since some are only pennies worth. Cheap roll of the dice. Like any Investing, you want to diversify within a sector as well as in the general market. I like Bitcoin, ethereum, ripple, monero, ant, lite and of course Steem!!! SBD. Fairly, some are tokens, not coins. Do yourself a favor now: do a Google (or Steem) search on "banks and cryptocurrency". You'll see they (banks) aren't on board yet. But they will BE. I want to be on board BEFORE they are. Hint.

Retail -

Target had a tough run. JCP RIP? Will they crawl or stand up and run? Sears sells on Amazon now. Malls - bye. Are they just laggards benefiting from the Bull? Just my opinion - but I believe so. Why spend money on those when there are so many others with solid, longer term gains. I personally am not going to buy into the brick and mortar at this point.

China GDP-

China is slowly shaking off the old misperceptions harbored by so many investors. Yes - they've got some issues with "green issues" & other concerns due to their historical ways of governance. Do your research and you'll see they have one of the fastest growing GDP's on the Earth. Nobody's taken them seriously for so long. Now, their population is evolving into a people demanding the most technologically advanced products, services and conveniences. Their government is taking notice and going along with it. Unlike North Korea, China gets it. They are going to emerge as The BIG Player. Growth is the message here. I'm getting a portion of my investments into that growth. If you do your due diligence, you will see. Diversification... That's what I'm sayin'!!!

Gold & Silver -

Good old gold & silver. Physical, brilliant, able to buy anything you need - even if the Internet died, cryptos vanished and electricity disappeared. Normally, the dollar goes down & gold up. The past couple years have turned the old norms upside down. I believe there was a run on gold while the US presidential election was brewing. People didn't expect Trump to win. Then, he did. All those who had bought gold, then expected the market to go up. What happened? They bought BOTH. Market, dollar and gold went up. It's starting to sort itself out now. Now people see a bubble on the horizon. Some are scared. They are cashing in early and buying gold and preserving cash. Others are ignoring the bubble and going for a wild upward stock rise. Me- I've been keeping some portion of my portfolio in gold. Not a bunch. I remember when gold was $800 an ounce. It's about $1250 now. So, I'm not putting all the eggs in a gold egg basket. But I'm hedging for the impending bubble burst - whenever that happens. Can't afford physical gold? Neither can I. You can't buy a loaf of bread or get change from a 1 oz $1200 coin!! So- buy some silver coins ($20) & 1/10 oz gold coins ($130). Keep them tucked away. If you've got kids - they are a great thing to hold for their future inheritance. But there are plenty of gold stocks, etn, etf, etc. to play with in your brokerage acct. I like Gold Stock Analyst Newsletter. John gives ten thoroughly investigated choices. Simple. JM Bullion is who I've had good dealings with for coins.

Hedging the Fall-

If you've read anything else I've written about, you have heard my mention of Stansberry Research. The impending bubble - be it a year, or 3 away - will destroy some. Options are a way to counter that. Yes they can be confusing and bite you if you don't know what your doing. Stansberry offers a list of the "Dirty Thirty" stocks from companies who are heavily in debt and will suffer when the decline hits. You bet they will sink- then clean up as they fall.

Aside from that, all the things I've mentioned in this newsletter are things I'm sharing with you that are mostly outside the box. I for one, don't plan on sinking n'masse with all the other "Fools" following conventional advice of mainstream financial subscription newsletters. Diversify- YES. But do not be a LEMMING in a box going over the falls...

Follow me sporte77 (I'm still a minnow ) for the next newsletter. If I've made sense and sparked your survival mode - please throw me an upvote. I really appreciate all my followers and will return the favor upon my growth. I promise!!

Full Steem Ahead Captain!!!

Sort:  

Congratulations @sporte77! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58948.02
ETH 2507.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47