Mining Bitcoin to heat your house? Talk about efficeny, this is just brilliant!

in #bitcoin6 years ago (edited)

They say necessity is the mother of invention, I say give a frugal man a job and he will find the cheapest way to get it done!

Many people shun frugal people or "Cheep Skates" if you will, I however do not. While I have a great career and could afford to drive a fancy car and dress sharply I choose not to. Do not get me wrong, if I had so much money that I could do these things and not even notice the cost I would upgrade, but I will not buy lavish things just to impress people at the expense of my family. I know so many people who drive fancy cars, dress in designer clothing, then look at my like I am rich and stuck up when I take 3 vacations a year. I choose to spend my money on my family not on some fancy stuff to impress the neighbors, but I digress.
Like in the article I wrote about mining Bitcoin in Iceland to save on cooling (Article here: https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@embomb701/more-innovation-coming-to-the-block-chain-energy-efficiency-and-the-block-chain), which is basically 30% of your energy cost when mining, people have found more ways to utilize the Heat the mining generates. In the below article, people living in Siberia are using Bitcoin Mining to literally heat their home. So instead of paying for heat, you mine Bitcoin which produces heat, and in the short term the heat pays for itself, in the long run (When Bitcoin price rises), you are profiting on heating your own home, that is efficiency in its truest form! This is not the only profitable idea associated with Crypto mining heat.
https://qz.com/1117836/bitcoin-mining-heats-homes-for-free-in-siberia/
Keeping with this theme of efficiency in Crypto mining there is a startup company that plans to utilize the heat produced by mining to furnish a Green House with the heat required to cultivate crops, genius in my opinion.
https://cointelegraph.com/news/cryptomatoes-grows-5-acres-of-fruit-from-bitcoin-mining-heat.
We are only scratching the surface on the ways that the heat produced by mining can ether be used for something or, mitigated by other means then (Heating Ventilation and Air conditioning) HVAC. And as I have said before with Proof of Stake (POS), now an option for Crypto Currencies as opposed to Proof of Work (POW), we can certainly take the overall efficiency way beyond expectation. One more thing to consider, Generation one crypto brought us POS, Generation two brought us POW, what will Generation five bring us?

Image by: Darell & Doris Stratton Tomatoes & Greenhouses http://web.utk.edu/~bcarver4/.
For those of you looking at the crazy movements of Bitcoin today 3/12/2017 currently 9141 with a high of 9890 earlier, remember what I said in yesterdays article about irrational price changes due to Futures Contracts expiring Wednesday article here: https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@embomb701/crypto-news-that-you-might-find-very-interesting-anti-fud-articles-found-here

While I say Buy the Dip and HODL, this is not financial advice and I am not a financial advisor, invest at your own risk.

I hope you all enjoyed the article and thank you for checking it out.

Sort:  

For future viewers: price of bitcoin at the moment of posting is 9123.50USD

I hopefully we can continue to collect bitcoin through steemit ,, let's help each other and work together

Steemit it great but scale wise not practical to collect Bitcoin. Better to view Steem as its own thing and try to collect steem. Post, use the SBD to get more Steem. I am all in favor of helping each other. I have some pointers for anyone looking to do so. Join Shadowbot.us Another way to earn some money easy is earn.com/embomb701/referral/?a=rw4dialt6myd9f8v.
a

Please help yo earn... gantoglee

I am sorry, I am not certain what you are asking.

easy is earn.com/embomb701/referral/?a=rw4dialt6myd9f8v

https://earn.com/gantoglee/

yes, this is a referral and if you join we will both make 1$ bitcoin.

Yes i am use you teferal..

Cool, and here is a tip, keep doing the tasks and making BTC, then when BTC is at its lowest, cash it out.

That's cool!

Never realized it was that warm. Glad I'm not into it yet, I don't have any problem heating my house here in Texas lol

Yeah, this is more for people in cold climate, in places like Texas its better to use solar power to mine Bitcoin.

Can solar make that much power economically?

Well, it will reduce your costs and up your efficiency but it is not as good as the cost saving of natural cooling.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84