I got hacked for 4.5 BTC

in #bitcoin6 years ago

So I logged in to check my Eleectrum wallet last week and to my horror my BTC was gone! I believe my attacker used an online invasion to access the JSON file to recreate the wallet.

Does anyone here know of any other way a desktop wallet could be hacked?

Sort:  

That sucks man!

That's awful man, i try to verify each thing when i acces to any site and more when i have to do a transaction, maybe try to use the usb method. Regards

Yes, I should have been more careful and stored it offline for sure!

Well they are not cold wallet so they still connected to internets and as such a virus,key loggers and others could connect to your wallets and steal your bitcoins....

After being in the market so long and never having a problem I guess I let me gaurd down

I’ve made similar mistakes my friend. I had things spread out so didn’t loose all but I started Dollar cost averaging again. Sorry this happened, sucks

Holy moly! That is some actual money. I am so sorry.

Holy moly! That
Is some actual money.
I am so sorry.

                 - fitinfun


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Sorry about the loss of your BTC... What a scary thought to be robbed like that... Makes me wonder if the possible New, U.S. Crypto-Dollars and Decimal Cents will have better protection, once it's "Activated"...

Someone was probably "fished" your password.I don't know if any serious hacker would go for 4 or 5 btc.It would target bigger wallets.So you probably got keylogger,malware or put your login on fake sites.

The only way is for them to have got my wallet words somehow. A key logger couldn't have done it.

Of course a scammer style hacker would
That’s $28K

I'm so sorry this happened to you! That is a lot of money! I had a litle BTC but I ended up cashing it out a few months ago to buy Steem Monsters, lol! It is really a great game! I saw you didn't have any cards yet and I sent you a free pack of ALPHA Steem Monster Booster cards! They are actually Sold Out of these so they are quite valuable! You can view them and order more if you like here: https://steemmonsters.com/?ref=clove71 Steem Monsters has a very active Discord, if you have any questions come on over and I or someone else there will help you out! https://discord.gg/G2RtTSj Stay safe and I hope you find out how it happened so it won't again, so sorry to hear that!
Angel of Light (841px, 12fps) (1).gif

Thanks for the cards! and yes i'm playing steem monsters now lol. I was so depressed after that hack, what a crazy life we live in..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30