Daily Bird Photos - No. 14 ~ Hummingbird In-Flight

in #birds5 years ago

Finally, a male Anna’s Hummingbird came to the bird feeder. I had seen one earlier in the morning when I was outside with a coffee – but no camera! Following this, I grabbed the camera and spent another half hour outside waiting. No bird. Only after I gave up and went back inside did the male Hummingbird return and linger at the feeder while I shot these photos through the glass door.

to9t7jyfbl.jpg

kggunmgwiu.jpg

The Bonus Gif:
Want to see him fly? Help me test my new brand new personal website and blog... just click on through to see the gif. Let me know if it worked for you, that would be a huge help to me!

Please leave me a comment if you do visit my page! I'll owe you one... :)



Don't miss the previous editions of my bird photos!

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Great capture. Glad you got the chance.

I bought a new humming bird feeder about a month ago. I had seen a bright green humming bird flittering around, so I hung a feeder where I could see it nicely from my kitchen window. I saw him out there frequently and then... nothing. I replaced the nectar and the next day when I came home, about half of it was gone. Wow.. .right?.... I didn't have it full, but still. The next day, I saw why, bees, honey bees had found it and evidently, even though I never saw it drip one little drop, they were somehow getting a sip out of the edge of the bottom piece. So they swarmed it for a few days till I took it down. I'm thinking one of my not too distant neighbors has a hive. I hope they don't label the next batch "clover honey"... heh

We have that here too... not honey bees but wasps, and they chase the hummingbirds away! A wasp is pretty big if you're a hummingbird... must seem as big as a German Shepard would to us. Did you click to see the gif? (I'm just trying to check and see if google analytics works and shows me when I get visitors.. this is all new stuff to me!) Thank you!

I did click, but then the phone rung when I was on the way back over to say I saw it and it does work. That is pretty neat too.

I've put out humming bird feeders nearly every year for a good while and this is the first time I have ever had anything swarm it. I wish there was a solution to that.

Thank you! We just had a frost last night so I hope now the wasps will go dormant - they were picking on the poor hummingbirds! I don't know what you can do, is there something different you can try in the feeder?

I don't know, but I will definitely look into it.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

The link and the gif worked for me. The gif image isn't quite as beautiful as the jpegs here, but I would imagine that's got to do with the format. Nice work!

Thank you, great to hear! The images for the gif were shot through a glass door, not entirely clean either... then the gif is "optimized" for size and speed which lowers the image quality.... but that bird just wasn't coming to the feeder until I went inside! :)

Ha ha. I can just picture you stalking him. I’m that way with butterflies. Why can’t they all just sit still, like bees?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 67020.94
ETH 3270.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.62