Kayaking in the Bog

in #birding6 years ago

a4f07fba-23d0-47a4-aecb-fb76250e7304.jpeg


This morning I got up early, launched my brother's kayak here at McGrath Pond, and headed for the bog. On the north end of McGrath Pond in Oakland, Maine is a shallow lily-pad filled area we call the "bog." It is a great bird habitat. Common Loons, Wood Ducks, Swamp Sparrows, Red-winged Blackbirds, Alder Flycatchers, Yellow Warblers, and lots more nest here. I got here before the wind picked up and it was extremely quiet and wonderful. It brings back great memories both of as a child when I explored the whole lake extensively, and more recently where my late wife Kay and I just loved to come here on a quiet morning to bird and just be with the habitat. Until next time, good birding. Steem on!


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29