You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: On obesity amongst humans and animals

in #biology5 years ago

I like this blog for a number of reasons. For one, it doesn't castigate or blame. It just assesses how the problem arises and then comes up with a possible solution. And I like the way you tie notions of beauty to cultural circumstances. This can also apply to other notions of beauty besides body mass. For example signs of health, such as rosy cheeks, indicating a likely successful partner for reproducing.

One area in which I have a slight disagreement: eschewing labor/time saving devices. I don't see this as an efficient use of personal resources. Better perhaps to take advantage of the labor/time saving device and use the time saved in productive physical activity. Maybe volunteer for Habitat Humanity, for example. Build a house for somebody. Or mow an infirm neighbor's lawn. There is so much to be done and with free time, you'll be able to do it. Just an idea.

Beautiful cat :)

Sort:  

Thanks for a thoughtful comment.

I believe foregoing labor saving devices makes sense when the use of said devices does not save much time but merely saves some physical effort. Example: walking up to the 5th floor does not save all that much time in comparison to taking an elevator - but does give you exercise and physical stimulation.

This is the sort of behavioural modifications I was referring to.

I'm with you on this. It's amazing to me that people take elevators to the second floor. My limit is usually four stories, unless I'm feeling particularly energetic :))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65074.63
ETH 2635.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83