Update January 2017steemCreated with Sketch.

in #beyondbitcoin7 years ago (edited)

@eroche

Never Stop Exploring

The North Face tagline is very appropriate for me. I began exploring Blockchains and Crypto-tech about 2 years ago and my interest grows with each passing day. I have also travelled all over the world but there are still so many places I have to visit, foods I have to taste, people to meet, cultures to experience.

Here on Steemit I write about Crypto and Travel but there are lots of areas which I am passionate about such as Charity work and Technology which I will post about. I also do enjoy a good rant from time to time so if you follow me you might get a good laugh occasionally :)

Join me in my mission ...

Previous posts on my favourite topics

Crypto

Blockchain Series

I was very enthusiastic when I first heard about Bitcoin, but I have to admit the Blockchain never really excited me until I started this series of posts. With each post I discovered new applications and ideas. The future is full of possibilities.

Other Crypto posts

I write a lot generally about developments in the Crypto space. I am currently excited to see what Megaupload 2.0, Bitcache and Openbazaar 2 are going to look like.
Related posts:

Travel

Life after college

When I finished University in 2003 I was faced with the same life decisions many people are faced with. What to do next? I chose to spend some time travelling in some hard to reach places. My reasoning was I could do the easy places later when I had money
This first series of travel posts is about the places I visited, the people I met and the life choices I made.

Recent Trips

I still travel and see new places every chance I get so I will post about more recent Journeys in this next series.

  • Lots to Come
Day Trip Ideas

I currently live in Ireland. I often visit places at the weekend and this Day Trip series is for people who are looking for trip ideas.
I had started posting fairly religiously on Trip Advisor but I quickly got fed up with the engagement, feedback and lack of a reward system. You get nothing in return for posting great content on that platform besides an email saying your in the top x% please post more.

This series is my replacement for Tripadvisor using Steemit. I am going to post future trips with the main tag "daytrip".

Charity

Many countries around the world have strong traditions of charity work, particularly at this time of year. Ireland is no exception and I have been involved at various stages all through my life. I am not actively involved in any charity at the moment but I would like to give back in some way. Just before Christmas I thought of using Steemit to raise money for a charity close to my heart, "The Children of Syria". Thanks to the Steemit community a donation was made to UNICEF for 60 Euro following this post Vote for the children of Syria this Christmas on Steemit. (Its not too late to add to the pot, follow the link and upvote the post)

I want to develop this idea further and use Steemit to raise further funds for Charities. It can be a win win for Steemit and for the Charity.

When it comes to charity there can be many arguments against raising and donating money. For example paying the inflated salaries of C level executives, corruption, fraud. These criticisms are not without merit. If you donate money how do you know where its going? what its being used for? Is the charity real? Is it being used as intended? How to verify donations have been paid to the charity?

In this series of posts I would like to strike up some dialogue on how these issues can be addressed and how best to use Steemit and Blockchain technology to increase transparency in the NGO sector. I am really excited about this space and it could be another big use case for Blockchain.

  • Lots to Come

Technology

I would like to think of myself as an early adopter. I love trying out new things. I would love to be driving a Tesla Model S now but I hope soon the Model 3 will become available where I live.

Other

I love Steemit and I write a lot of posts on things that catch my eye in the media. These posts are all available on my blog page https://steemit.com/@eroche but the ones I would recommend reading if you havent are:


Thank you for reading this. I write on Steemit about Blockchain, Cryptocurrency and Travel. I am also on twitter where I mainly write and tweet about Data and Data visualisations. Follow me @ed_roche

Artwork by Christopher Hiedeman

Sort:  

Great stuff, excited to follow along. I'm also hoping to write a lot of travel-related content here. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62480.78
ETH 3045.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91