AKASHA, a social media on top of Ethereum and IPFS


I personally think this is most realistic and impressive use of Ethereum smart contract capabilities.

“I felt a great disturbance in the Force, as if millions of voices suddenly cried out in surprise and were suddenly silenced. I feel something wonderful has happened.” — Ethereum Kenobi

Akasha pre-alpha

http://blog.akasha.world/2017/01/16/into-the-ether/
The software is package so that you can test it on windows, Mac or Linux. I will do a review on that later this week.
If you understand a bit of how Steemit works, you understand that Steemit breaks with the traditional social media, like Facebook but didn't do it all the way through.

Steemit is centralised

I am really looking forward to busy.org (check @busy.org) to give us another access to the Steemit social platform. But until we make user friendly/noob friendly to setup and load your own copy of the blockchain to interact with it, it won't be enough.

I dream of decentralized censoring-free social media

Steemit Roadmap is not exactly going in that direction.

@cryptohazard

Sort:  

Downloaded the .deb and I'm signed in. Very interesting....

Will run it on Linux

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62187.20
ETH 3051.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79