You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Recent Visual Meditations

in #bescouted7 years ago

I know a number of printmakers and have some experience myself .. it's a special approach to making art and requires a certain technical finesse. Also you need a good studio or space and ventilation for chemicals, linoleum blocks :) or water and space for cleaning out silkscreens. Many artists turn to printmaking because most buyers cant afford high-priced original work and are more likely to buy cheaper print runs. I live in Prague and here the art market has been depressed for decades due to lack of money, so many artists are printmakers. I might get into it again myself soon, but it can be labor intensive.

Sort:  

I tried making linocuts once, thinking that since I could draw, I could probably easily make prints if I just bought the materials. Wrooong, hahaha. I hope someday to be a printmaker (aside from photo prints.) I actually really, really enjoy that half-way point between, on the one hand, the tangible, physical materiality of the process and the resultant artwork, the minute differences between each print, and the artist's presence in making the print, and on the other hand, the reproducibility of the print, its mechanical aspect, and the idea that not-completely-identical duplicates exist in the hands of likeminded collectors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58999.04
ETH 2518.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46