🍻Mazzle Reviews Beer - A Paddle at Brownstone Brewery!🍻

in #beersaturday6 years ago

I Should Have Been Working But Chose Beer Instead


I was out picking up some equipment and parts for the gym yesterday and realised that I was quite close to a brewery that I'd recently read about. I told myself that it was work hours and that I shouldn't be thinking about beer but couldn't get the thought out of my head. So, after convincing myself that I would be managing my time effectively by getting a beer tasting in while close to the brewery, I headed on over to Brownstone Brewery to try out their selection of craft beers.

It looks somewhat like a brewery

Wandering in to the brewery, I realised that I was the only person there. I suppose it was 1pm on a Monday, so I shouldn't have been surprised. The first thing that I noticed was that this place served a lot of beers in addition to the beers that they brewed on site. Should this be concerning? They also had a tonne of pre-mixed spirits behind the bar. That's quite odd for a brewery I think. At least they clearly brewed on site:

Brownstone have this to say about their brewery:

We’re the little brewery that can! Thanks to maestro brewer Steve ‘Hendo’ Henderson our 500 litre Micro Brewery pumps out a pretty spectacular drop… and it’s only available on site.
Source

Spectacular drop eh? Just one drop? Regardless, I'm not taking their claims of spectacularness as gospel. I'll be the judge of just how spectacular their single drop of beer is!

A Paddle a Day Keeps the Mazzle... tipsy?


I've become quite fond of the paddle since my last visit to a brewery. So I immediately requested one from the bar tender. He gave me a quick run down of the beers on offer; and as it turns out Brownstone are very fond of the Pilsner variety of beer.

This brewery isn't very well known at all. And is located in quite an out of the way location in the far distant suburbs of Melbourne. The brewery is also only 2 years old so I'm thinking that these factors are why it isn't very well known or even have any ratings on the usual beer review sites. It also could have something to do with the fact that their beers are only available at the brewery itself rather than distributed to local retailers.

The brewery has a mixed bag of reviews on Tripadvisor however most of the negative ones are about the food available rather than the quality of the beer. So this gave me some confidence as to what I was about to experience with my paddle of craft beers.


On to the Paddle!


My paddle consisted of 4 beers. They were all quite unique however it's obvious that the brewer is quite fond of citrus flavours. I'll give each beer a little review below.


Little Brew Peep - Pilsner


I’m not too familiar with Pilsner so was eager to give this beer a try to expand my knowledge a little.

The aroma was of hops and sweet malts. The beer had a well balanced carbonation. What surprised me was the extremely bitter flavour at the start however the bitterness tapered off to light malts and hoppy aftertaste.

This was a pleasant beer after I got passed the bitterness at the first sip.


The Skipper - Summer Ale - Pilsner


And here we have another Pilsner which is obviously what the brewers enjoy. It's a mid-strength beer which isn’t something I’d normally drink. The beer has a pleasant aroma of citrus hops and a subtle sweetness which follows through to palate. The beer isn't strong on carbonation but it works well with this style of beer. This is a very refreshing beer and easy to drink. It definitely resembles what you'd expect in a Summer Ale.

My only criticism of this beer is that the tasting notes say to expect tropical fruit and pine but I got neither of these aromas or flavours.


Rusty Sailor – IPA


This IPA brings hops and a mild sweetness in the aroma which seems consistent with the other beers on this paddle. What’s really weird is that I tasted soap in this beer. Could they have failed to rinse a glass properly?

This is quite a hoppy and bitter IPA which would be fine if it was a good beer. Sadly I didn’t really enjoy this one. There was something off in the aroma and the level of bitterness wasn’t matched well with the other flavours of the beer.

And the soap... what the hell?

The tasting notes talk about tropical fruits and onion notes. I got none of that. Although I did pick up some citrus notes... mixed with the soap.


Hoppy Ending – Pale Ale


Last on the list is the pale ale which apparently is brewed in the American style, which I am very fond of.

There are definite citrus notes in the aroma of this ale along with a subtle bitterness. Flavours of hops shine through with the citrus flavours on the palate quite nicely. The carbonation is low to moderate but that could be a result of the beer being last in line on the paddle.

I'm heavily biased towards pale ales when tasting beers. It really is my favourite style of beer. Thankfully, this is a decent pale which I enjoyed thoroughly after the soapy beer before this one.


Summary


Overall, I'm not thoroughly impressed with this brewery. It's a shame given that it's reasonably local to me and I enjoy supporting my local breweries. I'd say that the soap beer is the one that put me off the most. However their pale ale is definitely worth a try, along with the summer ale. Both are good quality beers.

Finally, this review is for the weekly #BeerSaturday competition. You can read more about this competition on the last winners announcement post (I may have come in second last week!). If you enjoy beer, I encourage you to participate in this fantastic competition, it gets bigger and bigger every week!


The Beer Data

BeerTypeOriginABVRating
Little Brew PeepPilsnerDoveton, VIC4.6%3.0
The SkipperSummer AleDoveton, VIc3.7%3.5
Rusty SailorIPADoveton, Vic5.8%2.5
Hoppy EndingPale AleDoveton, Vic5.1%3.5

All ratings are out of 5


Sort:  

Soap tastes may be due to some things. One of them of course not rinsing well the glass, after treating it with soap.
The second reason that can cause soapy taste is improper fermentation. Sometimes when leaving the beer very long in the primary fermenter, the yeast can break some fatty acids. The soap, being the salt of the fatty acid, and actually you taste real soap... in a way :D

Nevertheless, the review is great. I am thinking already on my #beersaturday post already.
Cheers!

Interesting stuff about the improper fermentation.. It makes perfect sense.. thanks for the education @mdosev

Everyone keeps on learning new thins literally everyday, right? I will be happy if people read my comments and learn new things from me.
Thank you and cheers!

Well said, except maybe the ignorant ones who already think they know it all ;)
Every day's a school day as they say!

Thanks. I wasn’t expecting to learn some basic chemistry today. That’s such an interesting thing to learn.

Get your post ready! It’s good to have it ready for including in the competition post as soon as it goes live. :)

Well this is interesting, a brewery in Melbourne I've never heard off, which is strange, Hallam isn't exactely in my hood, nor is it craft beer country, so maybe that's it. But I do know master brewer Hendo, he is a very good brewer (although sadly not a good business man given the demise of his own brewery brewcult) so the beers should be good, which is also why I would guarantee that it was an unrinsed glass that produced the soapy taste, it would also explain lack of head rentention. All in all it sounds like a odd little place.

It was a quite strange place. Worth visiting if you're ever out that way and know of the brewer. I don't think I'll go out of my way to try them again though.

Nice one @mazzle taking one for the team on a Monday work afternoon!! Ha ha love it! Pretty sweet having a brewery close by, just a pity it didn't measure up well. But, as you say they are new, so maybe give them a year or 2 to mature and try again.. Nothing worse than a soap beer to put you off though!

Thanks mate, that soap beer was just wrong. :)

Ahh, my dear @mazzle... Soap Beer. What the heck?? Is this a just reward for supporting a local brewer on an early Monday afternoon? I think not.

Firstly, a very nice review. I enjoy your thoughtful commentary on each of the selections. You always seem to find something positive to say even when you're not overly pleased with a selection.

I'll add that with the explosion of craft breweries in your country as well as mine, what we are finding now are may folks setting up shop that probably have an inexperienced hand. Hopefully we don't find ourselves in another 'frozen yogurt shop' debacle where weird becomes the norm in order to differentiate between one offering and another.

Good luck with your contest! I must get to drinking beer so I can tag along at some point... Cheers!

Thanks @braveboat. I think you're right. I'm sure the average craft brewers will be removed from the scene fairly quickly. Especially in Australia where the taxes on the sale and production alcohol are insanely high.

It should have been a giant red flag when I saw all the beers and spirits on sale that weren't their own products behind the bar. No self respecting brewery would have that many other products on sale if they are confident in their own creations.

It was just weird. I don't think I'll be taking myself back there any time soon.

OMG * __ * Such a terrific post :D I love this! :D I will give them a try if I ever happen to be in that area :D :D :D love me some gud beer~ * ___ *

upvotes

Thanks buddy :)

Just avoid the soap beer. That was very weird.

Rusty Sailor now on my official avoid list!! :o)

Nice post, perhaps they wanted to enhance the head and added a bit of soap for extra bubbles!! LOL

That could be a very real reason. Awful smelling soapy bubbles :D

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mazzle from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02