Let's Drink a Beer (ReAle Extra) for a Good Cause - Dan's Charity Initiative

in #beersaturday6 years ago (edited)

Starting this Saturday, I will be donating all SBD generated by my beer reviews in December to @SchoolForSDG4 - a charity school founded by @azizbd. The aim is to provide free quality education to 50 underprivileged kids in Gashitula, Mukambari Road, Syllhet in Bangladesh, thus achieving Sustainable Development Goal 4 by 2030.

Alright, ladies and gentlemen, I am excited today because this is the first time I am drinking an Italian craft beer! It's an India Pale Ale brewed by Birra del Borgo.

ReAle Extra ~ 330 ml ~ 3.00€ ~ Alc/Vol 6.4%

P1130894.jpg

Color and Aroma
I dig the color of ReAle - it's a dirty yellow-orange, which somewhat reminds me of the nectar juices that my grandparents used to make (with fruits from the garden, of course). The head is dirty white in color and long-lasting, and it leaves nice lacing from the top to the bottom of the glass. The aroma is strong - a combination of hops, grapefruits, and pine needles. It almost feels like there's a Christmass tree in my room and not a glass of beer.

P1130967_1.jpg

P1130977_1.jpg

Taste
This is where I get disappointed. The taste is consistent with the smell - grapefruits, pine needles, and hops blend together to deliver a moderately bitter aftertaste. The problem is the mouthfeel - it's so thin and watery that it almost feels like I am drinking a cheap 50 cents pilsner from the supermarket. Another thing that I don't like is the carbonation, which is close to nonexistent. I mistakenly thought for a moment that I bought a beer that has expired...

P1140011.jpg

Verdict
My first encounter with craft beer from Italy was a disappointing one. Honestly, if you asked me to pick between this India Pale Ale and the cheap Birra Moretti, I would have chosen to drink the latter. The watery taste and the weak carbonation nearly killed the experience for me. ReAle by Birra del Borgo earns a so-so score of 3/5.

P1140020.jpg

Cheers and don't shy away from upvoting this post :)

Have a great weekend!
Dan

.
.
.
.
.
On a side note, my hair is getting thinner and thinner
P1130990.jpg

Sort:  

I love the bottle! And the grungy urban backdrop in RED. I'll refrain from commenting on the hairline. 🙊

The grungy urban backdrop is the facade of the local post office 😂

Well I'm a sucker for RED. And now I'm imagining the stares you got lurking around the post office with a beer and a camera. Please tell me you were wearing military fatigues and a creepy trench coat to boot!
(Even if you weren't, don't ruin the illusion 😬)

Haha, I will ruin it, sorry :) There weren't any people around as it was raining, and I was wearing a black parka coat!

It's a sad day when a hero falls...
😄

I love this initiative for the children. Maybe you could put that in your title to let people know that you are working for a cause on these posts?

I'm resteeming this post - hopefully others will see it too.

Also, your beer review was done very well - sure makes me NOT want to try it :)

And your hairline? You are so brave :)

Good point, I'll put it in the title. Thanks a lot for resteeming it, Deb!

As for the beer, I have another one from the same brewery, which I am going to review next Saturday. It's called "My Antonia" and I have high hopes for it :))

You're welcome Dan. I hope it works out for your charity. It's really great that you are doing this.

LOVE that 3rd shot

Chrissy, now that you live in Hawaii, I think you should update us on the status of the local craft beer industry. 😊 Thanks for stopping by!

Oh don't you worry, I will! Can't wait to share some local brewery shots & stories!

Well, I can't taste it from here but it sure looks fancy! Not much of a grapefruit fan, but it sounds interesting anyway... Love the cap detail.

The cap and the bottle were the things I liked most about this one :) I am having another beer by the same brewery next week, and I hope that it will be better. Thanks for stopping and for taking your time to comment!

sounds a good beer and a great cause, my upvote isnt work that much so let me tip! 0.50

Thank you so much, my friend! Your tip will be donated :)

Glad to help a good cause

Thank you for the review. Hope your next beer will be better.
I'm leaving next week for Denmark and look forward to taste some of the new brews but most of all I look forward to drink my good old favorite 47 :) It was said that Carlsberg brewed one bottle per Dan.
https://carlsberggroup.com/products/carlsberg/carlsberg-47/

How come I never saw that one in the shops and the bars in Copenhagen? 😳The Xmas beer that I drank while I was there was from Tuborg and Albani.

Thanks for stopping by and for your comment, @lakshmi. Take pictures while you are in Denmark! :)

Most places you have to know about it to find it. I will take pictures af many things in Denmark including beer!

Interesting :) I look forward to seeing your pictures and reading about your beer experiences!

Hey Dan, Thanks for your donation in advance. I never tried beer But I resteemed for my foreign friends so they can find it helpful. You are so much helpful. Thanks for being friends and be part of something different.
@SchoolForSDG4 is a Charity school and my aim was only to provide education with the vision you mentioned. As steemit helping a lot through crowdfunding so We are accepting such donation. Will you please edit as "Charity school" instead "Crowdfunding organization" . Also, I am too small to use word "Organization" . :D

Have great weekend

Hey man, you are welcome :) I changed "Organization" to "Charity school" as you suggested. I hope that the upcoming 3-4 posts will generate a good amount of money (or at least that the price of SBD remains high until the end of the month).

Thank you for the resteem!

Lo and behold, I actually drank this beer and besides the awesome bottle(packaging), I didn't like it at all. It felt too fruity for my taste.

This hair complements your features and the scruffy-beard +1 :)

I can't imagine seeing you with voluminous hair😁 In my country, some people rinse their hair with beer...Old tales of legends speak of fuller and thicker hair through the use of a good old beer rinse.

Aw, thanks a lot, Ema! The thing is, my father is bald and I am getting bald too - the hair at the top of my head has gotten so thin you can see the scalp already :) And I would rather have the beer going down my throat 😂

Did you buy it based on the bottle's appearance?

Yes! I bought it because of the packaging 😂 As always, total sucker for packaging.

It's ok Dan, you are still going to look dazzling without hair. And hey, look on the bright side...you won't have bad hair days anymore!

Yeah, no more bad hair days. Thanks for comforting me :)

Love the shots, especially the shot of the close-up of the glass with a square light behind it!

Thank you @shieha! This one was quite tricky to take because I had to focus the lens manually before starting the time-lapse. So out of 20 photos or so, only 2 came out relatively well focused :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98