Sour beer weekend - Timmermans Kriek Lambicus Cherry & Rhombus Berliner Weisse with Sour Cherry

in #beer7 years ago

Going into the local liquor store yesterday, I almost instantly spotted the Timmermans Belgian beer bottle! Surprise!!! I haven't expected at all, that I will be able to find this beer in my local's. The price was about 2,3$, so I decided immediately to buy it and give it a try. I've came across this species a lot of times, but have never bought one. This was a perfect chance for me.
One day later (today) I gave it a try, when brewing my new batch of rose petal beer. And here it is:

IMG_6434.JPG
IMG_6433.JPG

Definitely a huuuge cherry nose, almost immediately after pouring into the glass! Nice light pinky head, which does not dissolve quickly. The colour is deep red, with crystal clearness. Shines like a diamond on the sun!
IMG_6435.JPG

After taking a deep sniff you will definitely note the explicit cherry aroma, and maybe some hazelnut/marzipan notes. Cherries seem a little bit artificial to me, but still fresh and very complex.

In the mouth... Still a lot of cherry-ness , almost no hop bitterness and a little bit of malty finish. The thing I didn't like was that the beer was a bit too sweety for my taste. It is very juicy-like, and a typical Belgian Fruit beer. No sourness at all, no brett-character too! Maybe only a little hint of brett-taste to be felt.
IMG_6438.JPG

As a conclusion I would say, that it's a very nice beer, but definitely not my one with this sweetness. I would say, that most of the women will love it. This artificial cherry taste also wasn't my favourite. Score 7,5/10 (If I was a woman, would probably say 9/10).

Bonus one: The Rhombus Brewery's (Bulgarian Craft Brewery from Pazardjik) Sour Cherry Berliner Weisee. Bought it straight from the brewery on Pegas tap (PVC bottle for home consumption).
IMG_6432.JPG

Sneak review for this beer... In the glass, definitely a reddish hint from the fruits, some haziness, nice carbonation and not much of a head. Definitely very nice Berliner, indeed! Fruit character is awesome, but it tasted to me more like Raspberries, than Sour Cherries! After all, the fruit character was a lot fresher and natural than Timmermans' one. Definitely a very fresh, summer beer. A lot of lacto character and not much sweetness in the body. Great summer mate, loved it!
Score: 9,5/10

Sort:  

it looks so nice , Thank you for sharing your review on this beer , followed and hope to see more like this.

I am thirsty now ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72