Four weeks of Belgian GRIMBERGEN Beer reviews - week #3

in #beer7 years ago (edited)

Third week, third beer of my four-week streak of Belgian Grimbergen beer reviews. Today's main hero is Grimbergen Dubbel - 6,5% alc. Just a moderate strength Belgian beer.

Again, here are the four beers in a brief list:

Grimbergen Blond - 6,7% alc.
Grimbergen Dubbel - 6,5% alc.
Grimbergen Tripel - 9,0% alc.
Grimbergen Optimo Bruno - 10% alc.
All the beers came in the company of a beautiful glass, branded with the Grimbergen logo.
And here is today's star: Grimbergen Dubbel Double
FullSizeRender.jpg

First impression(appearance):
Very deep amber, a lot of red hues, maybe ruby a little bit. Definitely beautiful colour. I will love to have a homebrew by me, that has a similar colour. In one word: brilliant. Very thick head, definitely a lasting one.

After the first sniff(aromas): A lot of maltiness, Belgian yeast spiciness. Some black pepper notes, maybe a little bit of flower hint. I can definitely smell the sweetness of the beer. Expect a very thick body.

Time for the first sip(flavour): At the first moment maltiness kicks in like hell! Very very thick body, a lot of sweetness on the tongue. Almost like a Quadrupel. In my opinion it doesn't respond to the 6,5% alcohol percentage. Secondly some Belgian yeast profile notes. Spiciness, typical, typical dubbel!

Let's repeat(secondary impression): The second sip doesn't come quick. I need time to assimilate this sweetness. I'm not fond of so sweet beers, only the Quadrupels make an exception and I accept their sweetness. Definitely a winter beer, not my summer one. Maybe it will go with a very heavy cigar... Late in the evening, instead of a glass of whiskey.

Overall conclusion: Definitely not my beloved beer. I'm not saying it's bad at all. I just prefer something different, during this time of the year. Maybe with christmas dinner it will be perfect. This beer is just heavy! Heavy as hell and with an exploding body!
Overal score: 7,5/10 (I would say 7,0/10, but I give the beer 0,5 point bonus for its colour!)

Some additional photos:
FullSizeRender.jpgFullSizeRender.jpgFullSizeRender.jpgFullSizeRender.jpgFullSizeRender.jpg

Please, make sure to Upvote and Follow me!
Sincerely, yours: @mdosev - Miroslav B&T-BG (Beer&Travel Bulgaria)

Sort:  

Good reviews and nice photography as well - impressive

A very nice beer color, I love the red beers! I will try a Belgian red for my next homebrew!

I recently brewed a Irish red, but the colour seems a bit more amber, than reddish. Used some CaraRed malt, but still more amber-ish hues. Maybe I should thing on another option.

I have had good results with very small amounts of chocolate malts, both Carafa 2 and 3. Somewhere between 20-50g gives a deep red hue to a 19 liter batch.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70455.47
ETH 3561.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71