Goatmeal Stout: An Amateurish BeerSaturday ReviewsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #beer5 years ago (edited)

20190921_174511.jpg

Oh, man. This was gonna be a great review. I had plans. Professional photos. Glamor shots next to dinner. Pompous flavor profile analysis. The whole works.

Then this happened when I opened the bottle:

20190921_173759.jpg
Upside-down image upload? Oh, well. I'll leave it. It reflects my confusion at this event!

I have no idea why this happened, but I got a beer fountain. Driving my gravel road doesn't usually do this to beverages. It did tip out of the bag and roll a bit, but still, this is unusual. Oh, well. I let it settle a bit and tried pouring a glass.

20190921_175438.jpg

Oh, boy. It looks like I pour a beer worse than Hillary Clinton! With that shameful thought in my mind, I drink from the bottle. And here the story takes a turn for the better. This is a decent beer. From the bottle:

An austere buck, the Goatmeal pours pure chocolate brown, with a thick mocha-colored head.

I'll have to take their word for it.

Dark and delicate notes of espresso and cocoa swirl lusciously on the tongue, gliding smoothly to a sweet-dry finish.

Excessively flowery, but that works as a description. The bottle also says this is made from just water, malt, oats, hops, and yeast. 5.7% ABV is within standard stout territory. I would say it tastes a tad flat, but the carbonation fountain of doom is probably responsible for that, and the beer itself is probably fine normally. I think I still prefer Samuel Smith's Oatmeal Stout from England, but this is not bad at all. I should give it another go sometime with a bottle that hasn't been as abused as this one apparently was.

Check out the brewery website here.

Sort:  

That suggests to me there was an infection in either the bottle or the brew.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Nothing seems off about the smell or taste. I suspect the bottle just took some hard knocks when it rolled out of the bag and onto the floor of my rig. Potholes are getting bad.

You just need more !BEER

Sorry, you don't have enough staked BEER in your account. You need 6 BEER in your virtual fridge to give some of your BEER to others. To view or trade BEER go to steem-engine.com

You seem to be replying to the wrong items. Time for a bot adjustment?

Next time on this side of the line you should hit the brewery for some fresh from the tap. Then you can give em shit about the exploding beer. They might hook you up.

Sorry, you don't have enough staked BEER in your account. You need 6 BEER in your virtual fridge to give some of your BEER to others. To view or trade BEER go to steem-engine.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00