🍻 Brooklyn Larger Beer Review - A 'Pre-Prohibition' Style Brew 🍻

in #beer6 years ago (edited)

I've been missing my favorite East coast beer, Pennslyvania'sYuengling, for some time and decided to try - again - to find something that can remind me of that perfect beer. I was first introduced to this beer while living in Delaware by a co-worker from Pennslyvania.

This was nearly twenty years ago, and back then I don't think you could find Yuengling outside of that state. However, he would head home almost every weekend and bring back a case for the week. When I would take that first sip it was as if I was drinking Zeus's piss, it is that good.

But being on the wrong side of the Mississippi river, it is not distributed. Yet, from time to time I feel the craving - is there anything out there that can help me?

In my searches, I found that Brooklyn Larger could possibly offer a glimmer of hope.

Brooklyn Brewery History

Founded in 1988 by Steve Hindy and Tom Potter, this brewery does indeed still operate out of Brooklyn, NY. Interestingly, Steve was a reporter for the Associated Press and covered Middle Eastern news. During his time there, he befriended many diplomats and other Western workers. Since alchohol is prohibited in those countries, the diplomatic compounds often had a thriving microbrew culture.

Forget murdering people, I say that Diplomatic immunity is wasted if you aren't using that power to make your own beers in the middle of a desert. Wouldn't you agree?

Being around such operations for years he picked up a profuse amount of brewing tips from these diplo-brewers. Upon returning home to Brooklyn, he began to dabble with the recipes in his own home. After some time, him and his downstairs neighbor, Tom, decided to go bigger.

Brooklyn Larger Beer Review

Brooklyn Beer.jpg

STATS:

  • Brewed by Brooklyn Brewery
  • Alcohol content: 5.2%
  • Company description: Brooklyn Lager is amber-gold in color and displays a firm malt center supported by a refreshing bitterness and floral hop aroma. Caramel malts show in the finish. The aromatic qualities of the beer are enhanced by “dry-hopping”, the centuries-old practice of steeping the beer with fresh hops as it undergoes a long, cold maturation. The result is a wonderfully flavorful beer, smooth, refreshing and very versatile with food.
  • Ratings on Beeradvocate.com: 3.72/5 with 3,707 ratings - 'Good'

BrooklynLarger.jpg

Label

No fancy artsy gimmicks to catch the eye here, just a basic label. However, the 'B' is very reminiscent of something I might see in a baseball logo. The strong green color used is also distinctive.


The Details

Appearance: A dark, cloudy, orange-amber color that reminds me of a strong IPA. It holds a decent amount of carbonation that makes building a head easy. I actually overdid it a bit as I did not expect the head to build so fast. Head retention is also good, and you can expect it to stick around for awhile.

Smell: There is no powerful smell to this brew. Nothing in particular stands out, it just smells a bit malty... like a beer. You know what it smells like when you walk up to a bar? That is this beverage.

Taste: Like the smell, no flavor stood out amongst the others. Every ingredient is well blended into an above-average drinking experience. There is a light, not unpleasant, bitterness aftertaste left on your tongue.

Mouthfeel: This larger is refreshing with its medium-light body and medium carbonation. The blend is smooth and the carbonation is felt on the tongue as it passes. Combined together it actually hints at a caramel creamyness.

Drinkability: This is something you could down while watching a Yankees game. Or building a deck. Or at your friends BBQ. The point is that this is something you could drink for hours... and keep going back to.


Verdict

Brooklyn Larger is simply an above-average beer that could become my go-to if I didn't have to pay a premium price to get it all the way out here in Arizona.

You might think that being medium, or 'average', in nearly every area wouldn't be so good - but you would be wrong. Without any glaring negatives, this astonishingly excellent blend of malts and hops leads itself to something that can please the masses - from the swill-drinkers to the beer snobs - without sending anyone away to get something else.

To me, this "Pre-Prohibition" style larger is a noteworthy beverage that I would be glad to have in my fridge at all times.

It is no Yuengling though - the search continues.

4.25/5

Sort:  

Now I have a hankering to find this Yuengling! Good review, I like a lager that is just a good lager for quaffing at times

If you visit the East coast of the USA, especially the Northeast, try to find it. Certainly worth drinking as its from America's oldest brewery!

I sure will try!

I think Brooklyn Lager is more hop forward
Bittering hops are added towards the beginning of the boil. These additions give you the ol' bitter beer face. They are necessary for a delicious ipa but they don't give off aroma or any discernible flavors other than bitter.
Brooklyn lager showcases the aroma and flavor of the hops more than Boston Lager. This is in part because Brooklyn dry hops their lager, and in part because it has a weaker malt backbone.
@getonthetrain
Cheers 🍺🍺🍺🍺

What I tasted was only a minor bitterness, far from the amount needed to plant a bitter beer face on me. 😀

There is a way you make the description and tempt me to purchase it online. May be you should try your chance to be their promoter? Lol

One day, you should come to Africa and I'll show you hundreds of beers. The traditional ones will make you drunk for a week if you are strong.lol

Last year, my hostel gate keeper took that particular traditional beer before eating, he had nothing on his pocket and then had to rest in peace.

We actually got used with him and could come to our rooms to ask for food or some coins. That day, i with my friends had nothing and never cooked too, he tried other people still and it never worked. That's how he passed on

Uh, Jona, I don't want to DIE from drinking a beer!

I feel already in love with Brooklyn Lager. It has an amazing interesting history right from Steve Hindy. It falls in the bracket of the alcohol content enough not to get you so drunk after 2 bottles which is a plus.
I love tasting different varieties of beers and now trying Brooklyn Lager a 4.25/5 is a top priority to give a shot at.

It's a good beer to drink all day. No complaints from me about it!

Very interesting @getonthetrain I am more of Pale Ale lover myself but I have had some good experiences with Amber. And I have had Yuengling a few years ago. I do remember it was very good. Can't remember the exact taste but when I drink a beer ( and have had many, many different diverse brands) I remember the name as being either very good, good, so-so, bad, or horribly bad. And the name conjures up "very good".

Yuengling has two brewery locations now, the other in Florida. But the Pennslyvania one has the best flavor, people say it's because of the water.

@getonthetrain I don't drink now, but When I did I always enjoyed trying out many different kinds of beers.................

Hey, that leaves more money in the budget for silver and gold!

Any beer that you and drink for hours and keep going back to sounds perfect..... that's the perfect beer!

Right, no complaints from me!

What interest me about this bear is that the alcohol content isnt that much high.
So both men and ladies can take it

It's enough to keep everyone happy :)

This is the coolest beer review I've ever seen.

Lol, I must be the first one you've read then! :D

Very modest of you haha.

Thanks for info

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66579.21
ETH 3282.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30