Brewing beer - part 12: Brew day with a Brewie!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #beer7 years ago

Today I will describe the easy Brew Day with a Brewie B20 automatic brewery!

Brewie B20.jpg

Here it sits in my cellar brewery, finally! I was one of the original backers on Indiegogo and after more than a year of delays my Brewie arrived in January this year! And with the recent software update to Chocolate Stout 2.0 it has (finally also...) started to work properly!

As I described in my earlier post, check it out here if you like:

Brewing beer - step by step, part 5: Brew day!

It can be a bit laborious with manual equipment, both during the brew and after with the cleaning of all the parts!

With the Brewie it is quite easy!

Brewie display.jpg

I use the central touch display to enter my recipe, complete with all the ingredients and the mashing and boiling details and, if you want, even the fermentation schedule.
After that I prepare my ingredients, I crush the malts and put them in a malt bag in the right compartment of the Brewie. The hops go into the small, centrally placed baskets. The left tank is the boiling tank, soon to be filled with water... Since the Brewie is connected to the water pipes and to the drain as well it will measure the correct amount of water when needed.

Brewie inside.jpg

Then it is time to press the Brew button, check the hoses and ingredients a final time and start the brewing!
It will take around 5-6h for a batch of 20l/5 gallons to be completed, during which I do'nt need to do anything really, I just check up on the progress once in a while...
The Brewie even cools the wort after boiling to room temperature, so when that process is ready I can start pumping the finished wort into my FastFerment tank.
The Brewie even has built-in cleaning programs, all I need to do is help a little with a sponge on the boiling and mashing tank walls, very convenient indeed!
As you certainly understands by now I'm quite pleased with my Brewie, I even had to buy 4 more Cornelius kegs to house all the beer I will be brewing now...!!

Thank you for today, tomorrow I will write about using a yeast starter or not!

Sort:  

Thank you @jonesta!

This post has received a 22.73 % upvote from @nettybot thanks to: @almvide.

Send 0.100 SBD to @nettybot with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote.

Oh, and be sure to vote for my owner, @netuoso, as Steem Witness

Have a great day!

This post has received a 5.09 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @almvide.

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!

Learn more about the @resteembot project in the introduction post.

You were lucky! Your post was selected for an upvote!
Read about that initiative
logo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85