BDCommunity Photo Challenge - Black & White

in #bdcphotochallenge5 years ago (edited)

Big thanks to @bdcommunity for putting on this photography challenge. I'm always looking for ways to measure my work(Well, it's not work, more fruits of a hobby) and finding this challenge gives me another great opportunity to do just that.
I've had a look through some of the entries and have to say that I'm amazed at the quality of photos that have been submitted. It's always good to be surrounded by talented artists and I wish you all the best of luck!

My entry for the BDCommunity Black & White challenge

A while ago I purchased some black & white 35mm film and loaded it into my Olympus OM30 SLR. The camera isn't anything special but it has been a great starting point to kick-off my new hobby and help teach me some basic photography skills. Below are just some of the pictures from this roll of film.

Pic 1

Here is my Niece doing what she does best...Posing for the camera and looking mischievous
CNV00008 (2).JPG

Pic 2

Here is a picture that, at 1st glance, I didn't like. I hadn't intended to focus on the flowers in the background but I'm very glad that it turned out this way. Just goes to show that you can learn just as much from your mistakes.
CNV00001.JPG

Pic 3

I like the way the B&W film helps age this house, while also adding an atmosphere. This house sits beside a rail line and overlooks my local nature reserve. The picture always makes me wonder who lived here and what the house would tell you about them(If a house could talk, that is).
Shot taken at Attenborough Nature Reserve, Nottingham.

CNV00026.JPG

Pic 4

This is my Mum's summer house and it's a place where she loves to relax. As you can see, it's surrounded by an eclectic(some would say eccentric) collection of garden ornaments and decorations. I've added this picture to my collection because it sums up my mum's personality in one image.
CNV00003.JPG

Pic 5

Here is another picture I think shows how imperfection can still be beautiful. I could have framed this in a way that displayed the whole of the names carved into the tree, but I really like the way it makes me want to look beyond what is shown(Almost as if it's part of a secret love letter, poking out from an envelope)
Shot taken at Attenborough Nature Reserve.
CNV00034.JPG

Hope you've enjoyed my entries for the BDCommunity challenge and I look forward to seeing what others have to offer(And hearing the results, of course...)

Good luck folks!

bannerart.jpg

Screenshot_2018-11-21 SteemClub-UK list of active UK steemians 21 November 2018 — Steemit.png

Sort:  

Love pic 3. Looks like something out of one of the older horror movies I watched as a child (that were old even then).

I can't wait to learn my camera. I just got some photographer lights in yesterday (they weren't that expensive) and will begin playing around with everything in the next couple of weeks.

I appreciate your enthusiasm with capturing the moment in picture. I may be asking you some questions in a couple of weeks.

Hope all has been well with you. Things seem to be continuing in a good direction from your posts. :)

Thanks mate. The house in Pic 3 is one that I'd love to do some Light painting at as the creepy aspect could really be exaggerated. I took a colour pic of this with my other camera and it isn't half as spooky so there is certainly some advantages to b&w photography.

It sounds like you're getting your teeth into things and whenever I've used lighting it has helped a bunch. I hope to see some great results from you soon enough, buddy.

All is well at this end, other than my daughter being a pain at school but that's because she takes after me too much ;) Hope all's well for you too...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25