BATHROOM SERIES #1 - How to Rate a Public Men Bathroom, from 0 to 5 Stars

in #bathroom7 years ago


Braille-ADA-Men-Bathroom-Sign-SE-1780-color.gif

As I travel often and I have a "short pipe", I often need to go to a public bathroom.

I am not speaking about number 2 here, just the basic need.

In public men bathroom, when we go to pee, there are five occasions when we may be in contact with germs.
For each of these, a star ★ is given if there is a possibility of no contact.

1. The Door

No star if you need to put your hand on a door knob or to push the door. One ★if there is no door at all.

Public bathrooms with no doors are often found in airports.


wonderful-school-bathroom-door-490485190-44b37cbddajpg.jpg
No Star for this Bathroom Door
source

2. The Flush

No star if you need to manually action the flush, one ★ if the flush is automatic, or for a waterless urinal.

Most bathrooms these days have automatic flushes. But this is not the case in old gas stations.


Urinal Screen.jpg

3. The Tap

No star if you need to action the tap or taps manually, one ★ if the water flow starts automatically.

Automatic taps are more and more frequent, as they save water.


automatic_tap.jpg
source

4. The Soap Dispenser

No star if it is necessary to put your hands on the soap dispenser, one ★ for an automatic soap dispenser.

This is usually the missing star for four ★ public bathrooms.


automatic_soap_dispenser.jpg
source

5. Drying your Hands

No star if you need to use a knob to dry your hands, one ★ for automatic air dryer.

In my opinion, the Dyson dryer is the best, although I have read somewhere that it disseminate airborne germs.


Dyson_Airblade_Hand_Dryer_Usage_Diagram.jpg
source


Thirty years ago, most public bathrooms had no star. These days, the zero star public bathrooms, usually found in old gas stations, are much less frequent.

It is my experience that 5★/5 public bathrooms are mostly found in large airports.


However, a greater number of ★s is not a guarantee that the bathroom is cleaner than another bathroom with less ★s, if it is not cleaned regularly.


This is the first post in the BATHROOM SERIES.

If you have suggestion for other entries in the series, do not hesitate to give them in a comment.




Sort:  

Haha this is a funny and interesting read @vcelier. You have managed to raise some very important bathroom design issues in a simple way. I have come across these things a lot of times but have never really thought in this way. Thanks for sharing :)

You are welcome. I am happy you find this funny.

the Dyson dryer is the best, although I have read somewhere that it disseminate airborne germs

I heard Sheldon from the Big Bang say that - must be true? lol kidding

What do you mean "kidding"?

If Sheldon said that, that MUST be true!
😎

I wasn't sure you know that show :D
now I do hahah

You are welcome.

LOL! Great read and great post man! :D

Thank you.
I was just reading your post How Does One Get Over 500-3000 Votes Per Post on Steemit?.

Could you suggest a post on bathrooms in India? I understand they are very different from those in the so-called "western world".

OMG! Im not sure I want to go there! There will be many horror stories far out weighing the nicer bathrooms! Lol

YES! We absolutely want to go there!

This could be a guest post from you, or you could send me the pictures.

Hitting Bottom In An Indian Train’s Bathroom – And Still Finding Happiness

Haha! I'll find some posts maybe to that effect. But I think you found some already! :D

Any luck finding what you were looking for? :P

Oh, I am sure I will find it, thank you.

I Think Star Rated Hotels are having 5 rated bathrooms. I also visited many normal hotels who are having good condition bathrooms.

I am talking about public bathrooms, not the bathrooms in hotel bedrooms.

I cannot really talk about public bathrooms in 5 stat hotels, as I do not go to these hotels.

Thank you for your comment.

Ops.. My Mistake. Then it's really hard to find a 5rated public bathroom.Most of them are 2* maximum like in all petrol pumps.

Lol this is unusual content but funny nonetheless :P

I am happy if I made you laugh.

You did! Not often you find someone reviewing bathrooms :)

I like manual everything....
Well, maybe not everything!

May be not.

One of my friend, he has to go to the bathroom every 10mins! I'm not even kidding hahaha. I hope you don't have to go the bathroom that often! And to me, it was really interesting to hear about man's bathroom as a women. Because it's really different with women's room.

I don't have to go every 10 minutes, but probably every 2 hours. In fact, before I go, I drink another glass of water, so that I will go again 2 hours later. I am following the advice of the French brand of bottled water Vittel: "buvez, eliminez" (drink, eliminate).


buvez-eliminez.jpg
source

I can't wait to see what the bathroom series has to offer. Lots of pics please. Will we be talking about number 3?

If you can't wait, you have to go NOW!

Yes, there will be lot of pictures.

And we will talk about bathtubs, showers, innovative toilets, etc...

Do you have anything to suggest?

Bathroom regrets X-D

The older model hand driers, which resembled a jet engine facing toward the ground, were usually positioned over the trash can, thus nuclear blast of germ distribution.
The newer drier you described seems better at not being a germ travel service.

Thank you for the info.

My girlfriend is in Japan now. She sent me a pic of a japanese toilet. I love the advanced bidet bottom. It actually has a graphic of a bottom above a water spout. She said you can actually play relaxing waterfall music whilst sitting on the thrown. Why don't we have this in the west?

Yes, why don't we have this?

Good question. I think people here in the UK just don't care. the public toilets in some of the top london museums are pretty run down. You'd think the British Museum would care about these things...

pretty funny to read and the pictures are interesting.Thanks for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14