"I have to find my place" Huh Ye-eun's promise to rebound in the competition for the starting position

in #basketballlast year

basketball-1503610_1280.jpg

Heo Ye-eun is preparing for the season with great pride.

Cheongju KB Stars are sweating as they continue training at KB Champions Park in Cheonan after completing training in Taiwan at the end of May.

Guard Heo Ye-eun, who was nominated first overall in the 2019-2020 WKBL New Player Selection Ceremony, received a lot of attention for her flashy movements, dribbling and passing skills. In the 2021-2022 season, he played his part as the main point guard and contributed to KB's unified victory. Due to his great performance, he was even named to the national team.

For Huh Ye-eun, last season was a time like growing pains. Heo Ye-eun also failed to show the same presence as before while defending champion KB was struggling amid various bad news such as the unexpected departure of Park Ji-soo. Heo Ye-eun looked back on last season, saying that she learned a lot from the defeat.

Heo Ye-eun said, "I don't want to remember it, but it seems to have been the most important time in my basketball season. I felt a lot while losing, and it was a learning time to realize not to repeat my mistakes later. I was disappointed in myself, angry, and very sorry to the fans. I looked back on last season and said, “The season I did.”

Coach Kim Wan-soo pointed out that the cause of Ye-eun Heo's growing pains last season was a lack of confidence and increased pressure. He also revealed his intention to give Heo Ye-eun a more concise role this season, saying that it was also because he gave too many roles.

Heo Ye-eun said, "I don't want to make excuses in that regard. If I did well, the team wouldn't have sunk that far. People around me say that the start was a problem, but I also had a lot of stake in it. I should have given it to you, but I was the problem."

When asked if there was something he wanted to make up for at least this one next season, he explained, "Rather than thinking that I need to change in some area, I just want to overturn the evaluation of 'I don't seem to have confidence' or 'I look under pressure'."

team-1474506_1280.jpg

In the off-season KB, the second position became thicker with Kim Ye-jin and Lee Chae-eun entering. At the same time, coach Kim Wan-soo, who announced that he would reduce the proportion of two guards with Huh Ye-eun and Sim Seong-young, said that the two players would compete more fiercely for the point guard position.

Heo Ye-eun said, "Of course, I think I have to make my own place. Nothing has been decided. Last season, the coach trusted me and appointed me, but I am always sorry that I couldn't reciprocate. I will think of it as zero again and start from the bottom. There are not only my older sisters but also talented juniors, so I will try to find my place.”

Regarding the strengths of transfer students Kim Ye-jin and Lee Chae-eun, "(Kim) Ye-jin is a player who is really good at defense, and I think her side will be more reliable. Not only Ye-jin, but also (Lee) Chae-eun has strengths. It's more fun and nice to play with a player who can play. Not only these two players, but Seongyoung unnie is also a very good player, so if I open my eyes more, I will be able to play basketball with more excitement."

KB accumulated a lot of experience mainly with young players in Taiwan's field training. Park Ji-soo and Kang I-seul, who were selected for the national team, as well as Yum Yoon-ah and Kim Min-jung, who are slowly lifting their bodies, did not participate in the practice game.

Heo Ye-eun said, "I'm still improving my physical condition, but there are still too many seasons left to say 100%. (Laughs) Still, I'm coming up faster than last year and I'm having fun training. In Taiwan, my opponents are tougher than I thought, and they're not afraid of physical fights. The referee call was also very hard, so it was a time where I was able to learn how to overcome physical fights and how to bump into opponents.”

In order for Heo Ye-eun to show more power next season, she needs to increase her shooting success rate more than last season. Heo Ye-eun, who is aware of his need, is aiming to strengthen his shooting skills through steady off-season practice. The KB coaching staff said that Heo Ye-eun voluntarily comes out every morning to practice shooting.

Heo Ye-eun said, “Anyway, last season my shots didn’t go well and my opponents were more comfortable defending against me. How can a small guard survive in the league without a shot? It's something I want to improve on," he said.

Lastly, Heo Ye-eun said, “As everyone knows, when you go to Cheongju, it is hot with passion and feels like home. I will do my best so that he can return home, and I will create a season where I win enough times,” he greeted the fans.

basketball-1476010_1280.jpg

Sort:  
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 64884.95
ETH 2619.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82