Holy Smokes! Check Out The World's Largest Airplane.

in #aviation5 years ago (edited)

Howdy folks and greetings from the Great Plains of North Texas!

I was fascinated when I saw this giant airplane and thought you might enjoy some photos of it as well. It's the brainchild of Microsoft co-founder Paul Allen. The purpose of such a huge plane is a practical one:

It costs a bloody fortune to get rockets into space with 80% of the weight being rocket fuel whose rockets are jettisoned when a high altitude is reached.

A big problem solved

But with a big plane like Allen designed, called The Stratolaunch, rockets and even space ships can be carried and launched from 35,000 ft, therefore eliminating the need and cost of fuel rockets.

This dramatically increases efficiency and drastically cuts costs. I don't know how long they've been working on it or how much it cost but I think it's going to pay for itself rather quickly.

It's amazing what man can accomplish with the right team and unlimited funding.

The size if this thing is jaw-dropping! It has a 385 foot wingspan:

cnet-stratolaunch-2.jpg

cnet-stratolaunch-1.jpg

The left cockpit is empty, the pilots and flight engineer are in the right one and the cockpit is the same as a Boeing 747:

cnet-stratolaunch-21.jpg

This thing has 28 wheels! This shot reminds of a county road repair crew where 10 guys stand around watching another guy with a shovel. lol. But it starts to give you an idea of the size.

cnet-stratolaunch-8.jpg

Here she is from the rear:

cnet-stratolaunch-5.jpg

Here's a great shot of the early stage as it's being built:
cnet-stratolaunch-new-1.jpg

They recently had their first test flight and it was a beautiful success. This shot shows it soaring over her home in Mohave, California. They only flew up to 17,000 ft in this first flight.
stratolaunch-2019-5.jpg

Another view of that first flight:
stratolaunch-2019-3.jpg

Here she is landing:
stratolaunch-2019-4.jpg

This image shows the concept of carrying a spaceship or rocket under her wings:

cnet-stratolaunch-12.jpg

And this shows the plan for launching from her highest altitude:

imrs-e1470484758822.jpg

Pretty soon this will be routine, launching space craft, rockets and so forth. Who knows what they can do with this? Might not want to know. Here's Paul Allen:

cnet-stratolaunch-new-3.jpg

He passed away last year but his dream and legacy is carrying on, funded by a trust he set up.

The man was certainly a great visionary. In 2004 he funded a spaceship project called SpaceShipOne and it successfully made flights into space, it reached altitudes of 377,591 feet or 71.5 miles!

The program cost 25 million dollars but was a breakthrough in technology. Here's what that ship looked like:

cnet-stratolaunch-23.jpg

Here's one last shot of the Stratolaunch, it gives you some sense of the mammoth size!

cnet-stratolaunch-9.jpg
All photos are from cnet.com
a0esw215rr.png

Thanks for stopping by folks, God bless you all!
-jonboy
Texas

uvsylyennv.png

l1xgphrt5d.png

ak059z170l.png

Sort:  

WOW such a huge plane and a very informative post thanks for sharing with us :)

Howdy JJ! Yeah I think it's an amazing accomplishment because they had to design and build it all from scratch.

Ohh yes so innovative, without a doubt

Woah, that's all I got... Woah!

Posted using Partiko Android

Howdy sir simms50! It's astounding isn't it? With all those big engines I thought it would be fast but they said they only flew 190 mph on the test flight. It probably feels like they're flying a whale with all that size.

Well I would have figured it needed to go a little faster but I suppose all those engines will be needed for all the weight they will need to carry when they start launching people into space!

Howdy again sir simms50! well they said they want to get up to 65,000 feet. I don't know if that takes speed or just power. I assume they don't need the speed as long as they have the power. We'll find out because I think it's going to become very routine to take all kinds of rockets and space ships and craft up to launch this way. Space tourism is supposed to be a big thing coming.

Now here is a question for you.....in my day in and day out I don't really care but it seems the question of whether the earth is flat or not comes up. Do you think the "average" person who take this ride will be able to prove it one way or the other?

That's a good point sir simms50! That should answer the question once and for all in regards to people who believe in that theory!

I sure hope so, no matter which way it goes!!!

Whoaaa.. it's really cool and seems like half of the country can get inside when it needs a quick evacuation😂

lol! Howdy cicsaja! Good to see you! Yes, it's mind-blowing how big it is and it could hold tons of people if it had too!

Hi, @janton!

You just got a 6.92% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Howdy steem-plus and thanks so much for the upvote!

"Holy smokes" is an apt description janton. The plane pioneers would be goggled eyed at this one! lol.

lol! that is very true, they wouldn't believe how big it is and how high they can fly!

That is rather astonishing! Very cool!

Howdy today Melinda! I thought so too, it's astounding and I think they had to design and buld the whole thing from scratch because no one has ever built one like it, that's another thing that impressed me so much. Just shows you what a great team of experts can do if they have the funding.

Hopefully they'll be saying the same thing about steem and steemit in a few years!

There are so many astonishing things happening in our world and so many brilliant people! We are so lucky that so many of them are here at Steem.

Howdy today Melinda! I agree, the technological advancements are amazing. So is the brain power here at Steem. Do you know if the hardfork is on schedule to take place around the end of this month? I was hoping to reach rep70 before that but I don't think I'm going to make it.

You are very close to 70! HF21 is scheduled for the 27th. 17 of the top 20 witnesses are already running it so that is enough for a consensus and it will go. Did you watch @good-karma 's interview on Steemit? It is pretty exciting stuff.

Howdy today Melinda! Well, it took me about a month to get from 68 to 69 and that was with putting quite a bit into ocdb which I won't have this month so I figure I won't make it but maybe it doesn't make much difference..depends on if it will be much harder for posters to earn after the hardfork.

No, I didn't know he did an interview, I'm going outside to work but I'll watch that later, thanks for letting me know.

I think it may be harder to make money on doing a post. But it sounds like it might balance out if you pay attention to your curation votes. It won't pay at all to upvote comments, and voting exceptional content will be more important than ever. It will be interesting to see how it works out.

You will get to 70 rep soon! I just got to 72, and I'm happy to sit there for a while. I'm saving up Steem so that I can buy SMTs when they are released. I think there will be some great opportunities there.

Oh I didn't even notice that you were at 72, great job! I mean, I would have noticed eventually. I'll be fine if it balances out.

I posted the interview on my page. It will be harder to earn Steem as an author but easier to earn Steem by curating. And then there are all the Tokens you can earn with, and cash in for Steem. I'm quite excited about SMTs. That will be a great source of earning!

Are the SMT's finally going to start?

Yes. eSteem did a post about our points transferring to become SMTs. I told GK that I want to be an eSteem whale, and he told me that I already am. Made my day! hf22 is already being planned. It will also allow us to delegate and lease our extra resource credits to new users. I think Vanderberg said that it would happen in the next few months.

Howdy again Melinda! lol...this is the only place that being called a Whale is a compliment! What does it take to be considered an esteem whale? Is Vanderberg part of steemit inc.?

That’s quite an odd looking plane! There’s something about looking at it that makes me want to break it right down the middle, like a Kit Kat bar. Haha! And how did an airplane garage ever get the name of “hanger”? I can’t figure that one out.

Howdy hebrewhousewife! It is bizarre and amazing looking isn't it? Besides being huge. I'm surprised the two planes aren't connected except just with the wing.

That's a great question about the term hanger, someone should research that! lol.

I very much believe that they should let me ride in the other cockpit when they launch, so that I can take photos for them.

lol! Brilliant idea sir fotosdenada! What a post that would make too!

Why the two cockpits???

Possibly to support the massive 385 feet Wing Span! That way they don't have to use much heavier reinforcements on the wings.

Good point

Howdy sir blanchy! I don't know, there is no reason for two of them but I think the main engineer/designer is Irish so that should tell us something! lol. They needed two planes fastened together but they only needed one cockpit so I think the unused one is just a shell. They might have to stock it with beer or something to keep it in weight balance with the used one though!

😂😂😂😂. Are there Americans flying it though?? Probably packed full of semi automatics in case Russia try to take over 😂😂

Posted using Partiko Android

lol! Probably but that might be a good idea! Have it bristling with machine guns.lol. Actually I don't know who the pilots are, the articles I saw didn't say, I just assumed they are Americans but maybe not. I bet that thing takes a huge runway to land it and it's still hard to stop.

Its MASSIVE! Hot dang

haha! Howdy meesterboom! It's so massive that I don't know if Scotland would have a big enough airport for it to land at!

Haha, you might have a point there!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11