Concrete stain on my wife's car!

in #automotive5 years ago

I park both the wife's car and my car in my apartment's multi-storey indoor car park. As the name suggests, indoor means there is a ceiling over my cars, which is nice because I don't have to park under the sun and be greeted by a rush of hot air in my face whenever I open the car doors in the middle of the day.

That is.....until water starts leaking from the ceiling....which is what happened about a week and a half ago. The worst part is because the water is mixed with the concrete and traces of whatever other chemicals, once it drips on a surface it hardens fairly quickly and sticks really hard. In this instance, the surface was my wife's car's hood.

I've tried Goo-Gone and polishing, all of which to no avail. At that point in my mind, the only way to fix this was to repaint the hood. The building management advised me to call the developer (the building is still under developer's warranty) and request that they undertake the reparations or at least pay for the repaint.

After a week of dilly-dallying, they finally sent their "fixer", the guy in charge of the the building's warranty works on the developer's behalf, to attend to my problem.

He said he was going to try to clean it, even after I insisted that it would be futile. Nevertheless I'm obliged to let him give it a try before the developer would agree to repaint it. So, I met up with him earlier today in the parking building, where he showed me what he was going to use on my car, a bottle of chemical called SM3005 Stain Renovator by a company called Dr. Clean.

He told me building contractors use this product to clean floor and wall tiles. "Oh good." I thought, as I was sure this will melt my car's paint away. Nonetheless I've figured they are gonna pay for a new paintjob anyway, so I wasn't particularly bothered.

Then he got to work and I was instantly astounded. The same stain took me buckets of elbow grease and still would not come off, dissolved and disappeared with just two wipes. Even more incredible was that it did not damage the car's paint...at all!

10 minutes was all it took for him to gently rub the stain off the hood, and a few more minutes to polish off the more stubborn residues. Within half an hour it was done. It's not 100% clean, I can still spot some of the residues at certain viewing angles and under specific lighting conditions, but I was satisfied the problem is solved.

I asked him where I can get the product, he said it's not something we can buy off the shelf at hardware shops -  Building or renovation contractors usually get them from specialty suppliers.

If anyone knows where I can get one in Malaysia, please let me know in the comments!

Sort:  

This is certainly useful. As I 'kena' this from several times from public multistorey carparks. Thanks.

Can try complain to the building management of those public car parks

Can try complain to
The building management of
Those public car parks

                 - dxn


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62441.28
ETH 3020.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79