Autism and vaccines - who do we believe?

in #autism7 years ago

I believe my daughter was born autism.  However, I still did my share of research.  Can vaccines cause autism?  I don't know but neither has anyone convinced me that they don't.  What do you think?

Sort:  

That is hard for anyone to gauge because within hours of being born most babies are vaccinated.

I've thought about that too. What EXACTLY is in that vaccine, does it need to be don't right after birth and how do we know if our baby's system is capable of handling that?

About your daughter, which of course is much more important for you, congratulations and the best of luck and strength to deal with everything! It's not up to me how you see your child and your child's autism, but just a warning, I have seen many children suffer because they saw autism and the autism trades of a child as a disease. Love your daughter all ways you can, and try to help out whenever you can, trying to understand specific struggles and strengths. Maybe usual communication is hard or impossible. From the point of view of your daughter this is probably more a protection mechanism than not being capable, not being able of something. Don't force her to do what she cannot do, but also don't stop providing challenges to get a step further when she can handle it. A healthy dosis of understanding and giving the right experiences to learn how to handle everything is very important. Explain from early on how people work, why things work a specific way. "Just because" doesn't work with autism and causes frustration. Explain, explain, explain, and when you are questioned about why and how, explore the question together with sincerity, also being honest when you don't know something. When you explain that you don't know why, and help dealing with that, you provide one of the best survival and growth strategies you can give to any child. And just watch, one point she will not only match, but heavily surpass other kids if she just gets her way. I am sure it won't be easy, but I very much wish it will be worth it for you. And anything I will be happy to help out if I can.

Something her dad and I have always agreed on is that there is nothing "wrong" with her. She simply perceives and processing things differently than most. I find the way she thinks completely fascinating. We do our best to help her get through life on her own terms as much as possible. If she has taught me anything it's that there is no such thing as "normal" in a blanket term. We each have our own normal and it is okay to be ourselves. It hasn't been easy but it has been a true learning and growing experience for all in our family. The people I have learned the most from are other parents so I am always up for stories, advise, thoughts, etc. feel free to share anytime. It sounds like you and I think/feel very similarly.

I just wrote an article on this issue, but let me ellaborate on your question specifically.

I have autism myself, Asperger's syndrome. The anti-vax "vax cause autism" stuff in my opinion comes from several elements:

  1. Not understanding autism. I went through a program with some of the best in dealing with autism. When people deal with autism they have vague models and a combination of symptoms, nothing close to what autism really is. I found most of that out myself, and many people with Asperger's on the internet do that too, and try to advocate for people with autism to be treated for what they really are.
  2. Not understanding chemistry. This is something probably many people on the anti-vax site slowly grow a thick skin against, but it's definitely important. Yes, your body actually NEEDS small amounts of stuff that in bigger amounts is lethal poison. Poison is decided by the amount, not by the substance. That's the same thing as why people remain fat while they think they eat healthy: it's not the specific things you eat that decide if you eat healthy or not, but if you get everything you need at least the necessary amount. The biggest problem of eating junk food is not getting enough vegs. The problem of only eating vegs is exactly the contrary, you do need proteins. Keep everything balanced and your body figures everything out.
  3. A very justifiable fear of not very honest motivations of big corporations, for example what we call Big Pharma. This is indeed very scary stuff which needs to be dealt with, but the best way to do this is civilized discourse with other people, asking questions, not getting angry and not polarizing discussions. The moment we manage to not have these discussions polarized any more, we will manage to get forward, for the betterment of all, by huge steps.
  1. Autism does have varying degrees of symptoms and severity. I think that's why the diagnosis of PDDNOS is used.

  2. You are right that we don't fully understand the chemistry and small amounts may not be poisonous to most. But some my have a compromised immune system, for example, and any amount might be poisonous in that case. Similar to being allergic to something - your body simply isn't able to process an ingredient in a vaccine.

  3. I do believe an open, calm and honest discussion needs to be had with pharmaceutical companies but I don't think that realistically that can occur. To much money, power and politics are at stake. What really bothers me about pharmaceutical companies is that they have lost sight of what's important. I don't believe it is the good/health of the population, I believe they are, as I said, driven by money and power. That's why I have a hard time believing what they say.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63478.09
ETH 3067.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81