Sensory sessions!!! Shaving foam fun!!!

in #autism6 years ago

I am becoming a self taught expert in the field of sensory play. I have been spending hours and hours searching the internet and pestering my teacher friends for their new and old ideas on sensory play for my kiddlets.

85F91539-E3B8-4598-BB68-6E68649F8B3F.jpeg

Keeping the little people interested and finding new ideas has been challenging to say the least. The other problem is cost. I have found some amazing ideas that I simply can’t do because of the cost involved. So cheap is always good, free is even better.

8D34709D-A2C9-4851-8C71-0FF01E9164FE.jpeg

This sensory play session is one of the cheapest I have come across. It does however involve a little bit of a mess, I would recommend having a nice warm bath ready to go afterwards. Or you could even put the kids in the bath to do this activity to begin with.

33B3F83B-537D-408F-8B60-023CECFDBCBA.jpeg

What you need:
• can of shaving foam (cheap is absolutely fine)
• food dye or natural food colours

That’s it. Simply spray the foam into a plastic container or tray. I gave each of my girls a little mountain each. Then just add some different colour food dye to each patch of foam. That’s all there is to it.

9E9C77C6-9803-4FE8-B362-BAD404EEA9FE.jpeg

Of course like anything that involves food dye you can mix the colours and teach the kids about prime colours, you can add extra colours but don’t mix them all the way through and make a rainbow. We stuck with simple pink and blue today as that’s the colours the girls chose.

47F65BDA-A1B7-4004-B2D1-8256FA168FA2.jpeg

AB97E000-1D15-4DC0-95B6-37A700E7E125.jpeg

You can add glitter, then it becomes sparkle foam. The girls absolutely loved the sparkle foam. Little warning, the glitter does go everywhere, so as I said, maybe have a bath ready to go. Even after a clean up, I’m still finding the tiny shiny stuff everywhere.

7230660E-026D-48F9-AEC3-2C8A16E58BAE.jpeg

FFCEE9E7-289E-4405-8853-81B5291B47B0.jpeg

Miss 1 loved the idea but I’m not sure she was a fan of the foam being stuck to her fingers. She tried to shake it off and tried to wipe it, she was much happier once I took her and rinsed her hands however she went straight back to play with it some more.

11AC90C1-A581-451B-9D27-716B2211EC80.jpeg

D2E8AA75-6DB1-4DC9-BD14-BBD57E85DF08.jpeg

Miss 3 liked to and I quote “Smoosh” the foam. She spent the whole time repeating the word “smoosh” over and over again. She loved mixing in he glitter and just like her sister, wanted her hands washed but was straight back into it. I think next time I will have a bowl of warm water for them to rinse with and then they can continue to play.

9F4473F2-B796-4932-9C44-077060F55061.jpeg

I honestly thought that his would be a quick sensory activity for the girls to do, I was wrong. They absolutely loved playing with the foam and were up at the table for more than an hour. Even when i began to pack away they were asking for more time.

1C618762-ED37-4771-B3A7-BD361F5C5594.jpeg

This activity was a hit. It provided sensory input for touch, sight, sound and smell (the girls have have a lovely minty smell about them now). Shaving foam play can also be expanded to include so many more ideas. You can use it to paint on windows and watch the light pass through. You can encourage the children to make different shapes with the foam.

EA1EA55A-E94A-4B88-9BDC-B2719170FCFA.jpeg

You can even seperate into little containers and add a different colour to each and let the kids paint each other with soft paint brushes. I felt my girls were a bit young for that but older children will think it’s great. You could even let them paint you if you don’t trust them painting each other.

CDCCDCBB-65AA-4DAE-A856-DA5CC48D8F4B.jpeg

Bonus with this sensory play activity is that although it is messy it is really easy to clean up. A bit of warm water and your all done. Only downside is constant supervision is required for little ones especially if they have a tendency to put things in their mouths. Trust me, we don’t want them eating foam and glitter.

60453E82-4C06-4592-B3B6-E8C6F3A33AA2.jpeg

This was so quick to set up and pack away I think it may become a favour of mine. The fact the girls wander to continue to play long after I had was ready to pack up was also a winner, it’s usually the other way around.

B8AA7158-AB1A-4C5B-AEAC-4C27C3FC2140.jpeg

If you have any other ideas involving shaving foam sensory play, I would love to hear them. Please leave a comment below to share with everyone.

Thanks for reading.

@mumofmany.

Sort:  

You know- it’s amazing how much joy kids are capable of bringing to your life.

Or I should say my life.

I became a stepfather this year...
I married his mother and gained twice the amount of joy. Nobody knows what they are missing, a single mom is the real package deal!

Congratulations, you are very lucky, as are they for finding you.

Aw thank you! I have always felt like I’m not the lucky one!

💙💙💙💙💙

Looks like everyone had fun.

They did! Thank you

Congrats @mumofmany of having 6 beautiful children! I'm so empowered by your post. I've 3 of my own...

I will be sharing this post to my wife to inspire her to bring "her world" and her love to work with children and Empower them to find their Purpose and Passion!

Keep it up! 😊👍🏻♥️

Mel @coachmelleow

Thank you! My children are my everything!

Beautiful idea!!! :-) You can have them in the garden maybe.Fill one of these small children's pools with foam and let them get inside.Also you can hide little balls or toys and the winner can be the child who finds the most toys?

I love the idea of hiding toys in the foam, would definitely add an extra element to the session. Thanks for the idea! We usually do these activities outside but it has been so hot lately I kept them in the aircon.

You can always get the bathtub messy.Ahahahaha! :-P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29