You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: REMINDER! Abandoned Shit Weekly Contest - №. 7 - "Black & White": *Ends Sunday* #aswcontest

in #aswcontest6 years ago

I'm not entering the contest, because I'm not a good photographer, but your photo deserves a comment. That's a story in itself. I can see the people there, imagine why they left. I read a few books by Halldor Laxness, novelist from Iceland, won the Nobel Prize in Literature. He describes hard times, difficult life. Grim, grim, and yet unforgettable, like your picture. If you haven't come across his books, I recommend them. Start with Independent People. I hope I'm not inappropriate, since I'm not entering, but this is an honest response to your powerful picture.

Sort:  

Wow, thanks for your comment @agmoore. My wife and I love Iceland. We've gone 4 times now. Last July we got married there even. I'll definitely check out that author. I'd love to hear more recent history of the country, especially first person accounts. Usually, you just hear about Vikings and the sagas. Check out one of my earlier ASW contest posts as it featured another neat abodned house in Iceland. Here's the link: https://steemit.com/awcontest/@customnature/abandoned-shit-weekly-contest-2-homes-35-sbd-prize-pool-aswcontest
Also, this isn't a photography contest. It's the subject matter on trial with this, not photo quality. You should join!

Lucky you! Have to admit I'm also interested in Sagas and the Vikings. Sagas for the poetry and glimpse of history they offer. The Vikings because I'm astonished at how large a role slavery played in the settlement of Iceland. It seems a lot of Viking "brides" were captured from the British Isles and brought to Iceland. Amazing to me how widespread slavery was, in Europe, in the early Middle Ages. Nothing glamorous about that.
I won't enter the contest--I know my limitations. But thanks for the invitation :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58999.04
ETH 2518.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46