Moon Day - 20th July

in #astronomy6 years ago (edited)

On this day, forty nine years ago the first man set foot on the Moon.

Mission commander Neil Armstrong and pilot Buzz Aldrin are the two astronauts who landed the lunar module Eagle in the Sea of Tranquility on July 20th 1969. I have a feeling that everybody knows about Armstrong, maybe few that he was followed by Aldrin 20 minutes later on the lunar surface. But do you know that the third person who piloted the command module Columbia in orbit was Michael Collins? Three craters, close to the landing spot were named after Armstrong, Collins and Aldrin.

Of course tonight I will be out with the telescope pointing at the Moon but I will not see the footprints on the surface left by the astronauts. I will try to make more pictures of the craters to share with you. Hopefullly the sky will clear.

This photo I took last night with the smartphone through the eyepiece of the telescope.

image

And the cross mark on the second photo is the place where the two astronauts have landed.

image

Last night I did not intend to take out the telescope seeing all the clouds.

image

However there are patches clearing and here we go again.

image

This is how it looks like through the eyepiece. The image is upside down when you look through reflector scope.

image

If you like my moon photos stay tuned for more to come.

Images taken with Samsung J5. Moon images were taken again with the smartphone through the eyepiece of the telescope. Editing app is Lightroom.

DQmbYFG7tEjDZdTkV366T3XhuJmfKzFJvTyMJfJSdw3nUWJ.png


Thank you for visiting, upvoting and resteeming.

If you like to share your thoughts you can leave a comment.

@nelinoeva






Sort:  

Прекрасна публикация. Рестиимвам я!

Благодаря сърдечно. :-)

Great shots, that you were able to do so through a smartphone makes it even more spectacular.

Thank you for dropping by.
I am glad you like them. :-)

Are you kidding me they are truly wonderful shots!

Nice and sharp moon-picture!! beautiful picture of the moon.

Thanks for your kind comment. Glad you like it :-)

most welcome :))

@nelinoeva you were flagged by a worthless gang of trolls, so, I gave you an upvote to counteract it! Enjoy!!

Thank you @flagfixer for you help!
Much appreciaited you are taking immediate meassures.
The list of these trolls is increasing since the first time I was hit. It is really ridiculous what they are doing but still it is very annoying.

Лунна красота.

Жалко, че снощи валя и бе облачно и не можах да направя повече снимки.

happy Saturday
that moon is perfect
I'd love to see one of those telescopes

Happy Saturday 😀

Thank you for visiting me. This telescope is for a begginer like myself. 😀🔭

hehe
xoxo

😱🤗🤗🤗🤗 I love the moon, but I dont have the equipment :/ to shoot the moon🔥

But did you try? I have seen brilliant photos made with DSRL.
I am hoping for clear skies to shoot again with my other camera which is for the scope.

Yes I did. I did get a good photo (will post in the future) but its not that focus. But it is ok.

I would love to see yor photo.

I will make a post tomorrow 😊

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64733.60
ETH 3170.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16