Happy Birthday, Cancer!! -- It's time to celebrate your time of the year! -- Part 3

in #astrology6 years ago (edited)

Part 1

Part 2

GreenCrabWithShell-052918.jpg
Image Source

Cancers take care of everybody.

One doesn't have to be an infant or infirm to need this kind of connection from time to time. We've all had moments where we just couldn't talk about what was happening with us ... but it was such a blessed relief to know we were not alone in our confusion and disturbance.

This is why Cancers sometimes attract an extended family circle around themselves. They don't necessarily confine themselves to just blood-and-marriage relations when they define their kin.

They tend to wind up caring for a huge variety of pets, strays, friends, colleagues, the friends of their children and relatives, the friends of friends -- and pretty much anyone or anything that needs the proverbial helping hand. And there you see the necessary emphasis on protection, security, maintenance, and defense.

break1.gif

RockersOnTheFrontPorch-032217.jpg
Cancers are homebodies at heart.
Image Source

Everyone is treated like family ...

Cancers care for those who cannot care for themselves. Cancers consider that their job. These mended souls become "part of the family" ... and Cancer's sense of responsibility and clannishness in these circumstances is fierce and unshakable. That's the public Cardinal quality of Cancer -- the openness that attracts this circle of "family" in the first place and then the chutzpah to stand fast in the face of threat.

Put a Cancer soul, especially a Cancer mother, in this position ... and she's as fierce as any Fire Sign every forged. Cancers are possessive, loyal, and extraordinarily well suited for the role they fill. Mothers-of-the-world (and Cancer men often make fabulous "mothers") need to be all the things I've just described and more.

break1.gif

MotherAndFawns-052918.jpg
Image Source

... and family is precious.

There is a devoted, domestic, tribal quality found in Cancer energy that displays itself in men and women alike, and which dissolves in those emotional qualities I've mentioned (extensively!!) into sentiment, nostalgia, attachment to memories, respect for history and traditions, and a sense of connection that bridges the past and the future across the present --in the ties of the generations Cancer is determined to preserve.

To Cancer, these concepts of family and continuity are literally sacred, and their special blend of qualities are those needed to keep things going. Only a fool would disagree.

As its reaction against the intense intellectualism of Gemini, which can be brittle, superficial, detached, restless, inconstant, insensitive, and impersonal, Cancer energy is approachable, passionate, expressive, fertile, profound, consoling, intimate, patient, and understanding.

break1.gif

MoonFlowers-001-052918.jpg
Image Source

The other side of the story ...

But under too much stress, this lovely energy becomes childish, clinging, resentful, compulsive, obsessive, anxious, fretful, complaining, insecure, paranoid, depressed, and unstable. It can be smothering in its attentions. Self-pitying in the extreme. Indecisive, changeable, reclusive, touchy, and paranoid. None of the signs has Shadow energy that's easy to deal with, but it can be especially hard to pull Cancer back onto the positive side of the scale once it gets on a roll with its lamentations.

The polarity sign -- the "other side of the scale" for Cancer is Capricorn, the Cardinal Earth sign ruled by Saturn which deals emphatically with physical reality, structure, and one's professional image and pursuits. And there you have the classic dichotomy between home and family and career and public pursuits. Cancer keeps the home fires burning; Capricorn earns the living that keeps the rent paid and the lights on.

break1.gif

FullMoonOnTheBeach-030217.jpg
Image Source

... the two halves of the whole.

Cancer is soft, pliant, gentle, and deeply invested in family connections. Capricorn is stern, exacting, disciplined, and deeply invested in prestige and social reputation. They are the parent figures of the Zodiac.

Cancer the archetype of the doting, sentimental mother, Capricorn the authoritarian paterfamilias. Theirs is one of the easiest polarities to see ... and the push-pull between the two of them and their interests is a classic dilemma of every life.

Together they usher the successive generations into the world, each offering succor and support in its fashion. Both are necessary to a balanced background and a balanced life ... despite the dangerous and unfortunate trend that continues toward widespread single parenthood.

Cancer spirits who've made their mark on the world include: Robin Williams, Harrison Ford, Ross Perot, Phyllis Diller, George Orwell, Diana: Princess of Wales, David Brinkley, Ann Landers, Ernest Hemingway, Red Skelton, Mary Baker Eddy, King Henry VIII, Pearl S. Buck, and Helen Keller.

break1.gif

Thank you for stopping by!

If you've always known there was more to Astrology than Sun Sign material and the three line daily horoscope in the newspaper, climb aboard and follow this blog. You'll find a world of wisdom detailing how you were designed to work with life ... and why you are the way you are -- all in quick-to-read, easy-to-digest-and-remember, written-in-plain-English essays that offer plenty of food for thought.

Little by little, I'm doing a set of articles that talks about all the elements in your horoscope and what they have to say about you. If you "know something" about Astrology -- or know something about your chart placements, that will help you get more from this material.

If you don't ... well, this is one place you can learn. We all have to start somewhere ... because we aren't born knowing this stuff. Meanwhile, if you've never seen your horoscope ... and don't have a clue how to work with it, maybe it's time to find out. There are lots of "chart services" on the internet -- some of whom produce decent, readable charts "for free" and some are so awful and confusing that even I can't read them easily -- and I've worked with charts for decades.

One extremely user-friendly chart site is here: AstroLabe. I recommend them if you want a simple, easy-to-read chart. I think they even give a reasonable little interpretive reading of your horoscope as part of the package. You'll need to know your birth information -- day, month, year, time and geographical place. Without all that your chart will have limited accuracy.

Or, if you want to get serious and really talk about this, upvote this post and start a conversation in the comments section sometime in the next six days from the time of publication. We'll go from there depending on what you want to know.

break1.gif

Questions about any of this? -- Upvote this post and talk to me in comments. It's a terrific way to build value for yourself and the community ... and it will give me ideas of what to write about in future posts. Believe me there is lots to say about the way The Sun, The Moon -- and all the other elements in a horoscope, all the other components of Astrology -- work together to interpret you and your story -- and what it all means to the person you've become.

This is who I am.

break1.gif

About the art in our visual essays ...

Although sometimes the background pictures in our visual essays support the topic and text, they don't always. Sometimes the connection is clear. Sometimes it's symbolic and subtle. Sometimes, there's no connection at all.

The scenes depict landscapes and natural features, buildings and wildlife. They were chosen because they show something lovely or interesting ... or simply because the photo appealed to me.

Our spectacular and remarkable planet is changing at astonishing speed. Rarely are these changes for the better. Few people seem to know ... or care ... or have the will and power to do anything about this. It may not be long before the world humans have known and lived in for centuries is forever lost. We certainly won't be able to make repairs as fast as we destroyed it.

So a few years ago I began collecting pictures of the way things were ... and still are for now, a record of the beauty we have while it is still ours to love and honor.

The photos here are part of that collection, with sincere thanks to the artists who saw these moments ... and with their cameras ... preserved them. All of us at Enchanted Spirit are profoundly grateful to them for their generosity and skill ... and for the added grace, depth and dimension their art brings to ours.

Original images used under this Creative Commons license or this Creative Commons license and modified by added text.

break1.gif

enchanted_red.png

break1.gif

The STEEM Engine

break1.gif

thealliance_logo.png

break1.gif

Isle of Write

break1.gif

break1.gif

LadiesOfSteemit

break1.gif

BTV2.png

break1.gif

#thesteemengine #thealliance #steemusa #isleofwrite #qurator

break1.gif

Sort:  

When I was 16 years old, I successfully guessed my boss' sun sign as Scorpio. He was a vengeful bastard and it seemed easy. This was NOT Kwiksave.

I know something of this stuff from my youth and as a consequence am aware of my Ascendant and its significance, and also the 12 houses.

Can you guess the sun sign of the positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva I wonder?

The sweaty guy? Aquarius. They're every one of them crazy and not shy about letting it show.

Now if I'm supposed to be guessing you -- that's a little trickier. I see a lot of Sagittarius in you. The generosity. The easy-going humor. The ability to look on the bright side -- of damn near everything. The strong sense of fairness and justice. Now, this could mean you have prominent Sagittarius somewhere. Sun Sign, Moon Sign, Ascendant. (I have a Sagittarius Ascendant.) But it could also mean you have a heavily accented 9th House ... or an extremely well-supported Jupiter. Those would definitely give you lots of Sagittarius energy ... but not mean a Sagittarius sun sign at all. (So most people would call that a "miss." But it's not.)

For instance, I am Aries Sun, Aries Moon, Sagittarius Rising. But I have a TON of Pisces energy in my chart. Sun on the Pisces / Aries cusp. Neptune (ruler of Pisces) ON the 10th House cusp, opposing the Sun. Chart Ruler (Jupiter, ruler of my Sagittarius Ascendant) on the cusp of 12th House (The Pisces house in the natural chart.) Mercury in Pisces, conjunct Mars, my ruling planet ... (Mars rules Aries) ... and Mars itself in Pisces. Anyone calling me a Pisces would be thoroughly justified. But only an astrologer would be able to see why.

Now ... aren't you sorry you asked?

Well.. I don't know what to say, should I simply tell you.. or just keep you guessing? The latter may be more fun ;)..., but I think my question to you was grossly unfair as you have never met me.

The quote you mentioned about figuring out people from their music choices is what made me write this.

I did a full check on myself when I was that same age (16yrs) and everything pointed to my success being later in life.., as you know my early life consumed with the likes of Dire and Mort.. so not so good. This bit was correct.

People who know me in real life are quite surprised that I'm giving away SBI's and doing this #AdoptAPlankton (you will know about this shortly) as it is not in my nature.

That might give you an idea of you assessment of me, but not too much.. that would spoil the fun right?

I don't know if "unfair" is the right word, but frankly, I can't come up with a better one. It's not an uncommon question. People ask, "Can you tell what sign I am?" -- I think, as a way to surreptitiously test whether I know WTF I'm doing or not. (Often I barely know them. In fact, we may have just met.)

The fact is I do, but they may not know enough to judge whether I'm accurate in my assessment of their "prominent energies" or not. They usually know their Sun Sign -- and that's about all -- and, honestly, many people don't "fit" their Sun Sign descriptions exactly because there are nine other factors -- powerful Inner Selves -- depicted in their Natal Chart.

So it depends on which one is driving the train at any particular time as to what's on display. (There are also at least 33 major points of interpretation in a horoscope -- so it gets "involved" to say the least!!)

A Pisces with Sun conjunct Saturn, for example will be highly organized and almost slavishly responsible -- which are not typical Pisces qualities at all. But someone might see these emphatic Capricorn qualities in him (Saturn rules Capricorn) ... and legitimately note them.

I talked about how I have a ton of Pisces in my character. But someone could also guess "Gemini" for me -- and be extremely perceptive in that choice. I have Sun, Mercury and Mars -- the three most dynamic planets in the chart in 3rd House. (Gemini is the third house in the natural chart -- and Mercury rules Gemini ... accidentally dignified in my chart by its placement there.) I also have Gemini on the 7th House of "how I treat other people."

So, I show a LOT of Gemini to the world -- because I am very verbal, I love to gather information, I write obsessively, I think constantly and know a bit about an amazing variety of subjects. All these are good, solid Gemini traits. (And I told you how that shows up in my horoscope.)

But other people are taken by the extraordinary exhibition of Cancer energy I show -- with my "mother the world" attitude, my propensity to take in strays (and marry them), my extraordinary (and inconvenient) sensitivity (God, I get butthurt easily!!!) ... and they can't fathom that I'm really an Aries Warrior at heart. (Ask Cw. He knows this to a fare-thee-well. Here, I'll tag him for you: @catweasel)

Even Cancers think I'm one of them until they learn otherwise -- because I have this powerful highly aspected and well-supported Aries Moon in 4th House. (Cancer is the 4th house in the natural chart ... and the Moon rules Cancer -- so it, too, is accidentally dignified by its 4th House location. So there's the evidence to back up those who look at how I behave and what I clearly value and see Cancer signatures on prominent display.)

So ... go ahead. Tell me. What are you? (I take it, people in real life think you're a skinflint.) That's why the unconscious indicators of character -- everything from the phrasing in how a person writes, to what gets him upset, to what lights his fire, to his taste in art, music, entertainment, etc., can reveal dimensions that surprise even him -- until they're pointed out. It's like a sneaky Rorschach -- applying these pieces of evidence to conclusions about character.

Then again, one tends to see oneself reflected in pieces of others -- which complicates things even more. What I see in you may say more about me than about you in the end. But that's a discussion for another time.

Lol, OK I will spill the beans... I was born on boxing day (26th December) which puts my sun in Capricorn but close to the cusp of Sagittarius, while my Ascendant in Virgo, but nearing the cusp of Libra.

How does that fit your profile?

I don't know if "unfair" is the right word, but frankly, I can't come up with a better one. It's not an uncommon question. People ask, "Can you tell what sign I am?" -- I think, as a way to surreptitiously test whether I know WTF I'm doing or not. (Often I barely know them. In fact, we may have just met.)

Having been interested in this once, people do expect too much and I didn't expect you to guess anywhere close to what I am without meeting me.

If you'd pinned me to the wall on a choice for "what I think you are" -- I'd have guessed Virgo. So see? There could be something to this after all.

But frankly, you show a lot more Sagittarius, IMO. The "Virgo" was mostly intuition. And that's hard to back up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85