Ask Steemit: What is something you’ve done where you felt incredibly awkward afterwards? - 你做过让你最尴尬的事情是什么?

in #asksteemit7 years ago

Ask Steemit是一个我在英文区开始的帖子。希望中文区的朋友们也能够来参加。
你做过让你最尴尬的事情是什么?


Announcing the winners from the previous week

The question from the previous week was What is the craziest thing you have ever done to save money? You can read the full post here

There were 2 joint winners this week who received 5 SBD each

The first winning comment this week was from @progressivechef who commented with the following:

“The craziest thing I did to save money was some years back in fact! I was in such a financial problem for a month that I did not know what to do to get some money!
You know what I did!? I locked myself in my house for 30 days(Well I only pick up the work transport to go work)! I lived with whatever I had in the house, I did not spend a penny that month.
Finally all the little money I had stayed there with me and I just added it to the next month.
Doing this exercise proved that most of the time we do unnecessary expenses. We can live very well if we refrain from expending like crazy!
Now whenever I am in such situation, the best way out is to LOCK YOURSELF UP! Lol!”

The second winning comment this week was from @rogvalentin who commented with the following:

“The silliest has to be take a one hour walk home in the rain because taxi fares were more than I wanted to pay—even though they are ultra cheap in Korea. Second silliest is buying clothes on sale because they were a bargain, even though I didn’t think they looked particularly good. Needless to say, I ended up recycling them. So by saving money, I actually spent money.“

As usual, there were a lot of great answers, so please take some time to read through all the great responses.


The question for the Steemit community today is: What is something you’ve done where you felt incredibly awkward afterwards?

IMG_1617.PNG
Thanks to @epicdesigns for the Ask Steemit logo

Please include your answers in the comments below. I will be awarding 5-10 SBD to the best response(s).

To qualify, you must upvote and resteem this post.


IMG_1769.PNG

Sort:  

One day I call the TV service center hot to rise my concern about my dead TV. In doesn't turn on anymore, I even change the battery of the remote control. The next day TV technician arrive to check the TV. They have bring all the possible parts to replace. They check the TV and found out it was unplug from power source so they just plug it in back to the power source and the TV come alive! This was really happen to me. In practice nobody in the member of our family unplug the TV. Therefore, check you all the possibilities before make a call to service center hotline.

lol. That’s funny. :)

Thank you so much!

You’re welcome

Thank you for the prize, @nextgen622. Most generous of you!

We all do things in life that we regret. We do things in life that make us not to be proud of the people that we are. All of these things make up who we are and how we've come to be ourselves. Occasionally we'd like to change the past because of regrets, though this would completely change who we are.
A female friend of mine came to greet me and we were carried away during our discussions that we never knew it was late in the night. After we discovered it was late, she told me she can still manage to go and that I should see her off, but I said its too risky for her to go around that time. Something came to my mind "this will be an opportunity for you to sleep with her". I thought of nothing else and persuaded her not to go, she waited and in the middle of the night I lost control and had sex with her.
Now she is pregnant for me. As a young man, I don't have the resources to be a father. Since then I had been depressed, my relationships suffered, as well as my career as a student, i sometimes feel like running away from home but can I run away from destiny???, No!!!.

O man, I can’t imagine how difficult it must be for you. Thank you for being so honest with your sharing.
Like you said, we all do things we regret, but it’s all part of our journey in shaping us into the people we are becoming.
Having a child can be one of the greatest blessings in a person’s life, even though it is sometimes unexpected and unplanned. Although raising a child is tough, they can really help us to see life more fully and bring so much joy into our lives.

All the best with your journey ahead.

Blessings
Jimmy

Thanks man

Let me preface this by saying I can be pretty awkward socially sometimes lol .

so about a year back my second cousin had passed away from a brain tumor. She was in her mid 30's so pretty young, she was always a very healthy person ran marathons, had 3 kids under 5 so while someone passing away is always sad this was especially sad.

My girlfriend and I were walking into the church and my cousins husband was in the entryway greeting people. Just out of habit as we walked in I shook his hand and said hey how's it going?

The second it came out of my mouth I was cringing, asking the widower with 3 kids whos' wife just passed hey how's it going man.

My girlfriend to this day won't let me live it down

lol. Tragic and funny at the same time. Funerals can be awkward like that.

Oh wow! Thanks so much for choosing me as winner my friend!
For the awkward moment, I do have something to share with you guys! I still remember that day as if it was just yesterday!

  • Have you ever organized a surprise dinner and no one shows up!???
    Well it was some years back, as I was working in the hotel industry, i was really very less present at home, I was always so busy!
    One day, I decided to organize a dinner party (surprise to my brother and mother) , I ordered all the food from a restaurant. It was for approx 35 people.
    My family is quite big as I have 5 married sister and my brother is married too. And they all have 2 kids each.
    I don't know how come I just forgot to invite any of them....In my head I thought my mom would send the invitation but I just messed up as she was not aware of the dinner at all!!!
    Coming the day of the party, all the food start arriving....but no guest coming!!! It was only then that I realized that big mess up!!!
    Finally I had to pack the food and made home delivery to all my sisters!!

I really felt very awkward that day and this gave me a big lesson for the future.

Lol. At least the food didn’t go to waste. Thanks for sharing my friend, and you’re very welcome. :)

Congratulation @rogvalentin and @progressivechef for sharing your wonderful answers! ❤

I went to eat dinner with my friends. When I arrived the restaurant, my friend still on the road; the waiter is so kind, he doesn't want me feel boring to wait my friend, so he talked with me about 30 mins until my friend came... Then I told the waiter: Thanks for your company otherwise I would feel so boring...Thanks to your bad business , you cannot talk with me if there are too many customers....

Ohh @nextgen622 I had lots of awkward moments lol. Ok just this one makes me laugh till now. One day I bring my month old baby in the park just near our house for sunlight. Lot's of people in the park that time and my baby Tia just fart so louuud as if a big man did! And you know what? Everyone's looking at me! 😂 They really think I did it. And when we are ready to go home I heard them say "She need to go to toilet!" Hahaha.. Awkward! I get the blame 😁

I used to work at a call center that was located on the 11th floor of a downtown high rise building. One day I arrived and entered the elevator on the ground floor, about to begin my ascent to the 11th. Right when the door was going to close, there was another employee rushing towards the elevator, hoping to catch the ride before it left. They reached out their hand and gestured for me to wait. Typically, I'd hold the door for someone in this situation but I was already running late and wanted to avoid even more people coming so I began mashing the close door button as they got closer and closer. The door closed. I heaved a sigh of relief as I prepared for my brief commute to the uppermost floor. The door opened. Oh crap! Apparently, if someone on the outside presses the up or down button with just the right amount of willpower and desperation, they can actually persuade the elevator to reconsider its pending journey, and delay it, in order to accommodate them. They walked in and stood beside me. The door closed. We were silent the whole trip which was a huge relief for me. I was expecting them at any minute to turn towards me and say something to the effect of, "I saw what you did there, it wasn't cool." So yea, I try to be very accommodating and considerate, but I chose not to be in his situation, and it resulted in a very awkward 30 second elevator ride.

Haha at least it wasn’t your boss. That may have been more awkward. :P

Excellent post, very well articulated. thank you so much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63006.70
ETH 3075.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82