Kelpies - Scottish Water Horses - Art Contest - ImaginarysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #artcontest6 years ago

Imaginary water spirits against a futuristic psychedelic sky.
imaginary creatures.jpg
Image © Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved.

This was digitally painted in Corel Painter from an original photograph of The Kelpies, a sculpture in Falkirk, Scotland.

In Scottish folklore, the kelpies were water spirits which lurked around lochs, rivers, and streams. They could appear in any form, but most commonly as horses or ponies. These spirits were not friendly, but could drag humans to their death. There are many legends about children being carried off by these evil spirits and eaten when they appeared in the shape of horses, which were particularly attractive to children. So, over the centuries these legends were told to keep children away from bodies of water!

Thanks to @topkpop for creating the #artcontest
The rules for the contest can be found here


Thanks for taking the time to read this! I appreciate it.

To check out my art prints and stock images online, please visit my website.

dmcamera steemusa banner.png

TEAMCANADA-SIGN - smallest.png

Sort:  

Very nice digital painting!

And good choice for a theme! It reminds me of Kelpie, the song by Jethro Tull.

Jethro Tull - Kelpie

Thanks so much. I didn't know that Jethro Tull had a song by that by that name! I will have to look it up. I don't know how I missed it!

I feel like this picture does a great job capturing what the 60's felt like for most people. As I wasn't alive then this is just a guess, but it is a beautiful picture.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

Check The Daily spotlights of 21 November 2017! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights

Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

I like the colours you chose. It's a little bit scary, in keeping with the Kelpies.

I'm organising this art contest:

https://steemit.com/contest/@deemarshall/artstorm-new-art-contest-1-3-sbd-for-the-winner

I hope you might have time to take part.

Thanks! Good luck with the contest. I'm a bit worn thin at the moment, but will keep it in mind!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69735.97
ETH 3533.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72