Homemade Wooden Rings For Valentine's Day - DIY

in #art6 years ago

Last Valentine's Day I made my wife three wooden rings, similar to the My Secret World Rings.  This was not an easy task, but took a month to finish.

I found the idea on YouTube by a guy named Peter Brown. Here is the video I watched a million times to try and reproduce his concept.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Here is the process I did when making my own.

First I broke a piece of wood and put it inside a plastic holder and poured in the epoxy. I then put different amount of blue dye to help add the color and left it alone for a couple of days.

Make sure you let it dry fully. I took mine out a little early and it was a challenge to shape on the belt sander. lol, that's right, I went out and bought a belt sander for this job.  I've used it once since. 

The next step was to remove the plastic from the epoxy and wood and cut out the pieces that I wanted to make into rings. I found these two pictured below. After I started I took one more scrap and made another one. It is important to cut a little wide. It is easier to sand down and shape when you have a little more room to work. 

Next I cut a hole in the middle with a drill bit and want it smaller than the actual ring size. I'll sand it down in the next phase. This is what I'm starting with.

Next I went to the belt sander and started forming the shape of the ring. I tried to cut bevels in it and round the bottom of the ring. To me, this was the most fun part. I really enjoyed shaping it and creating a ring out of a block of wood and some epoxy.

This is what the one I liked the best looked like after sculpting on the belt sander.

It is starting to take shape. Now the part that really sucks. Using the fine sanding pads. They are tiny micromesh pads that you have to use to sand down the epoxy and wood in order to get a good shine. They start at 1500 and go through 1800, 2400, 3200, 3600, 4000, 6000, 8000, & 12000. 

It took me days to accomplish this at a few hours at a time. It really took about 5-7 hours per piece to go through them all, but this is the most important step to getting a great ring. You can't skip this step. I just listened to audiobooks and watched movies. 

I'm not sure where, this is in the process, but you can see it is really starting to look a lot better. It almost has a shine.

A little more sanding and it is starting to look a lot better and now more translucent. 

After I got the the polishing done, I sprayed a layer of lacker on to help add strength and protection. This really made the ring shine. Make sure you spray a coat, wait 24 hours and do it again. Then again, then again. And one more time. Five times turned out to be the best for me.

Here is a picture of one of the other rings that I made.

This one is more translucent and is prettier on the inside, but is more bulky and isn't the shape that I would have liked. I made a mistake with the belt sander... what can you do?

In order to make them look good in the presentation, I put some light up LEDs behind some colored tissue paper to present to my wife. The three rings, a little poem and some natural oil fragrances.

 She loved the rings and wore one of them once. It is my fault, I don't take her to enough events where large creative jewelry is a necessity. 

All in all, it was a great experience and I really enjoyed making the rings. The polishing was not fun, but worth the effort. 

I had a great time and would recommend to anyone willing to put in the work. 

Let me know your thoughts.

Have you made wooden rings before?

Let me know in the comments below.

Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

Not bad for the first try, pretty nice result, you should create one with steem logo ;)

How funny, seeing your bloopers as you try to figure out the mystery of these secret rings–I've never seen anything quite like them–it's as if an entire forest wonderland exists in every little splinter of wood. And voila, you discovered something so cool, you stud! Way to go, dude. Your vid here is great, you know, and the end result of your work is superb. I'm resteeming, naturally, and I'm also checking out your blog for more fun posts like this.

Oh, I am a rock gal! Not diamonds and jewels, pretty rocks. We have a tumbler and a cabochon machine... I might be part dwarf, haven't had my DNA tested... lol!

That is interesting, never seen it done before..

I have been following Peter Brown for a while and I am a big fan of him. You did a nice job on the rings. I have made a couple of wooden rings myself. I used a drill press, not resin. Still, don't have the confidence to take that leap yet. Anyway. Nice job and thanks for sharing.

well in my view that is amazing..is somebody is a ring lover

You got a 12.95% upvote from @minnowvotes courtesy of @walkingkeys!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04